HTPC of complete newbie - need an advice
Hello I'm Cxax.
I have never used any multimedia player nor HTPC, only a standalone DVD player. However the time has come to get into next level.
After reading many articles and forums I think my HTPC setup could work.
Here it is:
Motherboard: ASUS E35M1-I DELUXE,
Case: CFI CBI-A8989TG (I think this is an equivalent to Rosewill RC-CIX-01 BK),
RAM: Kingston 2GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM (KVR1333D3N9/2G),
SSD drive (system only): OCZ OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G,
HHD drive: Samsung SpinPoint EcoGreen F4EG, 3.5'', 2TB, SATA/300, 32MB cache,
Optical drive: Lite-On iHES112-29,
Remote: Logitech DiNovo Mini.

My questions are:
1. Will this setup work (playing BD, BD ISO, DB rips, etc.)?
2. How can I reduce the cots (maybe smaller SSD drive)?
3. Is the Logitech keyboard fully compatibile with Ubuntu (will I be able to turn on and shut down the HTPC with it)?
4. I want to use the optical drive for blu-ray backuping. Is there any Linux software for this task or I'll need to have windows instaled also?

Thank you for your help.

ps. English is not my native language so please be understanding for my mistakes.
if your just using it for xbmc i would go with openelec its a stripped down linux os with XBMC boots into xbmc in 10secs from start up you could then use a usb3 thumb drive for your os and do away with the ssd to cut cost down also think openelec has a make mkv addon but dont know how it would go about blurays
Saving money is great but saving too much can turn out bad if it doesn't do the job or you wind up hating the product. Here are some tips I can provide on your list that might be helpful.

cxax Wrote:Motherboard: ASUS E35M1-I DELUXE
Does this use ATI graphics? If so you will have difficulty getting it to work in Linux. Nvidia graphics is the way to go for Linux
cxax Wrote:SSD drive (system only): OCZ OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G