[Mini-ITX] A6-3600 (4x2.1Ghz/2.4Ghz) + HD6530D

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #331
Oh ok....
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #332
(2012-05-08 20:17)Jarjar72 Wrote:  Hi guys,

I am back again. I finally got the A8-3820 (65W) processor today...

I plugged it in and tried to run the system with the Antec ISK300-65 stock brick.

First everything went okay. It booted into UEFI (BIOS).
Then all of the sudden the computer turned off. Black screen.

When I tried to turn it on again nothing happened. The after a minute or two I tried to turn it on again.
Then it did the same as it did in the very beginning with the A8-3850 APU. The CPU fan turned on and off and on and off and on and off and so on... No booting into BIOS anymore.

So it definitely seems like the 65W stock brick isn't doing the job with the A8-3820 (65W) APU.

In a couple of days I will get my PicoPSU with 160W. That will definetly do the job as the other 160W PSU from an old desktop computer did it too.

Cheers,

JJ


might be a weekness of the ISK300-65's 135w DCtoDC power converter....
if you read KraziJoe's post Here
you'll see that he's successfully using an A8-3870K APU
with an 100W PicoPSU !!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-09 02:56 by eskro.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #333
(2012-05-09 02:56)eskro Wrote:  might be a weekness of the ISK300-65's 135w DCtoDC power converter....
if you read KraziJoe's post Here
you'll see that he's successfully using an A8-3870K APU
with an 100W PicoPSU !!
I'm glad that you finally noticed it........

If he stress his system, that 100W Pico PSU is not going to handle 3.0GHz quad-core and HD6550D very well........

The 160W Pico should be very appropriate for the A8-3850......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #334
when i said 'weekness of the ISK300-65's 135w DCtoDC power converter'

i was referring to the fact that someone tried a 120w brick with it
and didnt seem to be able to handle the A8-3850 APU.

while KraziJoe's successfully using an A8-3870K APU with an 100W PicoPSU..

so, per se, the ISK300-65 + 120w brick should technically be able to handle a 100W TDP APU...
but its not somehow, there's got to be a weakness in its DCtoDC power converter...
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-09 07:24 by eskro.)
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #335
(2012-05-09 03:58)eskro Wrote:  when i said 'weekness of the ISK300-65's 135w DCtoDC power converter'

but its not somehow, there's got to be a weekness in its DCtoDC power converter...
What's "weekness"?

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #336
weakness
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #337
Weekness.... we all know what that meant....
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #338
(2012-05-09 07:25)Beer40oz Wrote:  Weekness.... we all know what that meant....

i guess that some dont catch too quick.
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #339
(2012-05-08 20:23)Beer40oz Wrote:  
(2012-05-08 20:17)Jarjar72 Wrote:  Hi guys,

I am back again. I finally got the A8-3820 (65W) processor today...

I plugged it in and tried to run the system with the Antec ISK300-65 stock brick.

First everything went okay. It booted into UEFI (BIOS).
Then all of the sudden the computer turned off. Black screen.

When I tried to turn it on again nothing happened. The after a minute or two I tried to turn it on again.
Then it did the same as it did in the very beginning with the A8-3850 APU. The CPU fan turned on and off and on and off and on and off and so on... No booting into BIOS anymore.

So it definitely seems like the 65W stock brick isn't doing the job with the A8-3820 (65W) APU.

In a couple of days I will get my PicoPSU with 160W. That will definetly do the job as the other 160W PSU from an old desktop computer did it too.

Cheers,

JJ


Why not try the 130W brick? that way we can know it can be used. thanx


Hopefully once my one comes i'll use the 135w from the start. Hopefully it works
find quote
MrKay Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 266
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #340
Lol just after i finished posting my apu and ssd and wifi just came
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #341
(2012-05-09 07:25)Beer40oz Wrote:  Weekness.... we all know what that meant....
Since he repeated the same word 3 times, I want to make sure that it is not some kind of new electronics word.......Big Grin

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
homerjs Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #342
Bought the Asrock a75m-itx and the MI008 , am trying to decide on the processor,
AMD A6-3500 or
AMD AD3670WNGXBOX , is this an A6 processor (seems to be) and will it fit under the psu?? is the stock fan and heatsink same height as A6-3500 ?
thanks
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-18 00:42 by homerjs.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,579
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 85
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #343
A6-3500 will run much cooler in that case than the A6-3670K and for HTPC there's no difference between the two in perceived performance.
find quote
homerjs Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #344
great, thanks
Any idea where I can get a Kozuti Scythe SCKZT-1000 in Canada? this item seems to be unavailable anywhere, is there a newer or equally as good item?

Apparently the Noctua NH-L9a is 38mm height, anybody try this in the MI-008 case?
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-18 23:23 by homerjs.)
find quote
Knightfolk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #345
Hi all,

First time poster here. Been stalking for the last few months, and during that time I have been beta testing XBMC by having it run on my main gaming rig via a 25 foot HDMI cable to the big screen.

I have been given a budget of around $450 to spend by the boss as she prefers the control and visuals of XBMC over our AppleTV 3.

I have strayed a bit from the reference setup, as I want the ability to use the PC for light gaming on the 70 inch LCD from time to time.

As this will be by first ground up build HTCP or otherwise I was hoping someone could take a look, as clue me into what if anything I may be missing ( cables ) ect.

CPU
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0095VP...PDKIKX0DER
Motherboard
http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-GA-F2A85X...d_sim_pc_3
Case
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FIQ...PDKIKX0DER
SSD
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093HM...PDKIKX0DER
RAM
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0056KU...PDKIKX0DER

Windows 8 is on hand as well as a SATA cable. Any materials past that to complete the build would have to be added. Right now my cart is at $410.

Thanks
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-20 04:25 by Knightfolk.)
find quote
Post Reply