Unique (Maybe) Buffering Problem
All,

Humbly seeking out you collective wisdom...

I'm having buffering problems. Not consistent, not completely dependent on bandwith/filesize issues.

My Setup. This is a dedicated Win 7 box. All files are served from a centralized WHS server over wired lan - 10/100 - the server is made up many USB drives, about 14 tb right now, I think.

Files - my files are standard and run the gamut, but the top end are 10-12 GB movies. I see the behavior across all file types, big mkvs, vobs, even 300mb avi tv shows.

The Errors. I'm new to logging, but I tried it last night. I was getting what appeared to be standard error messages - WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(audio[and Video])::Get - asked for new data packet, with nothing available. I read several forum posts, and did some troubleshooting related to the suggestions...but I don't think they are ultimately my problem. For example, I checked throughput using task manager networking settings and I'm never getting to greater than 50%, even on big mkvs. I have more than enough horsepower on the rig, but I also tried the Revo-esque settings - rendering, dvxa, full window, etc., with no change in the problem.