Configure Random Items (Transparency Skin)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kapperz Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

I like the new Random Items feature (added in v3.11.1). I was wondering if its possible to modify it to choose random items more frequently (instead of the default 30min) and pick from all movies rather than only unwatched.

I found one thread post to change random items every time you go home (which would be great too), but don't know where to make the change.

Many Thanks!
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,444
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #2
move the piece of code that runs the script from Startup.xml to Home.xml

to include all movies (and episodes) make the change in bold:
Code:
script.randomitems,limit=3&alarm=60[b]&unplayed=True[/b]

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
kapperz Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks ronie, I've poked around the filesystem and don't see startup.xml or home.xml.

I'm running the XMBC Live 10.1.
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,444
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #4
look in this direcory:
~/.xbmc/addons/skin.transparency/720p

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
kapperz Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Ronie,

Thanks for your patience with this. I have looked in a bunch of the .xml files and don't see anything that starts the randomitems script. I have tired to add the following to line to Home.xml within the <control> at ln 95 with no affect (restarted xbmc between changes).
Code:
<onfocus>RunScript(script.randomitems,limit=5&amp;alarm=30;unplayed=True)</onfocus>

I have zipped up some of the unmodified xml files from the 720p directory. I'm pretty technically inclined. What am I missing here?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3989834/skin.tra...y.720p.zip
find quote
ronie Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,444
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 165
Post: #6
no wonder, my comments above weren't exactly accurate for dharma :-)

in Home.xml, make this change:
Code:
<control type="button" id="5043">
    <description>don't run scripts</description>
    <posx>-20</posx>
    <posy>-20</posy>
    <width>1</width>
    <height>1</height>
    <label>-</label>
    <font>-</font>
    <texturenofocus>-</texturenofocus>
    <texturefocus>-</texturefocus>
    [b]<include condition="Skin.HasSetting(HomepageRandomMovies) | Skin.HasSetting(HomepageRandomTVShows) | Skin.HasSetting(HomepageRandomAlbums)">randomitemsscript</include>[/b]
    <onfocus>SetFocus(9000)</onfocus>
    <visible>!Skin.HasSetting(Startup) + [!Skin.HasSetting(LibraryUpdated) | [Skin.HasSetting(LibraryUpdated) + [Window.IsVisible(DialogMusicScan.xml) | Window.IsVisible(DialogVideoScan.xml)]]]</visible>
</control>

in Includes.xml, make change this:
Code:
<include name="randomitemsscripthome">
    <onfocus>RunScript(script.randomitems,limit=3&amp;albums=True[b]&amp;unplayed=True[/b])</onfocus>
</include>

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
kapperz Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Works, Thanks!
find quote