Warning Newbie alert!
OK so I'm REALLY new to this so please have a little patience. This is what I would like to do...
I would love to dl my movies onto an external hard drive and be able to watch them on my dlp tv set. What I have read here it seems possible. Can someone dumb it down for me or point me in the right direction of what I need to do or is this even possible?
Thanks in advance
Buzz
Alright my friend...

It's a tad hard to know how much you really know and don't know, but I'll go for what you exactly write, namely that a) you know very little about movie playback onto a TV and b) you want to know exactly what you describe.

Playback on TV generally speaking
Most TV's have either HDMI or a VGA input and many have both. In order to play downloaded movies you just need to hook up a computer to the TV with a HDMI or VGA cable and off you are picture wise.

Then you of course needs sound, which is easy with HDMI as it supports also sound input (if TV and graphics card support it). Otherwise the TV may have some line-in in the shape of 3.5mm jack plug or RCA in which case you need to get a 3.5mm => 3.5mm cable or RCA cable.

Playback software
If you are as green to all this as it seems, I would suggest sticking to some simple solution to start with, such as using VLC Media Player for playback, via Windows or Linux, and from your ordinary PC. Using XBMC for Windows would indeed be a nicer solution, but if you're a total newbie you should at least start by getting the simplest possible setup to work, then move onto XBMC if you want something better, but at the same time slightly more advanced.

In the case you run Windows7, it also has a semi-decent built in media center (simply called Windows Media Center).
HTPC: LibreELEC 7 on Shuttle XS35GTv2 & Raspberry Pi 3
NAS: NAS4Free 2x 3TB Raid1
OK so it looks like I'm in the neighborhood I want to be in.