[RELEASE] OzWeather - Australian Weather Addon using BOM data

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,486
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #616
In the meantime @wazzac, if you want to fix it you can manually copy the converted BG images from another install into the right place in addon settings, but IIRC they get wiped once a day to make sure they pick up any changes. not 100% sure on that, been a while since I wrote it and a bit busy to look at the moment.

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
gjlane54 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #617
Hi,

Added file for the radar on the Neon skin in the wiki.
This mod adds the radar to the Home screen weather.

[Image: weatherneon.jpg]
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,486
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #618
@gjlane54 that looks great - thanks!

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
wazzac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #619
Thanks for the info @boss - I managed to find the downloaded png layers on my windows system, but could not locate a compiled image - could you advise of its name or location?

would there be a way to make the file "read only" on an android file system so it doesnt get deleted?

Thanks again for your work on this

cheers

Wazza
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,486
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #620
If you found them on your windows box they're most likely the converted ones already - it doesn't keep the downloaded ones and create new ones, it does an in place coversion

Yes, you can probably make them read only via es file manager or similar (or ssh-ing in to your android box), you'd get some errors in your logs each day but it should work I'd say

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
wazzac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #621
OK, so I copied over the 6 .png files from my windows machine to the FireTV and the radar background layers now appear correctly

The image file dates on the PC were a few days old, so it looks like they are not deleted every 24h - this is obviously a good thing with android functionality partially broken.

Thanks again for your efforts on the add on and your assistance - it looks pretty slick

cheers

Wazza
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,486
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #622
Well in theory Android should have working PIL or is shouldn't install...but apparently that's not the case.

Yeah, I think it's actually onec a week so I'd still makr them read only...

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,486
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 38
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #623
@wazzac - can you actually post all your hardware details etc so I can maybe get the android devs on to this? PIL really should work...

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
wazzac Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 19
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #624
What do you need to know?

The device is the Amazon Fire TV (not the stick)

I'm running a rooted ROM ... I think version 51.1.4.3_514020320

When I posted the error log I was running SPMC 14.2 launcher version

I have since changed to elmerohueso's launcher version of Kodi Helix 14.2..... The radar function was broken here also, and the issue was resolved by copying the images from my windows box ... I never checked the log but I assume it was the same error

The FireTV is connected via ethernet as opposed to wifi

Let me know if you require any further info

Cheers

Wazza
find quote
Post Reply