[RELEASE] OzWeather - Australian Weather Addon using BOM data

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 4.5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ebswift Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #721
Thanks for the addon, I was able to get it all working. I found in default.py, the HTTPSTUB variable should be set to:

HTTPSTUB = "http://ws.cdn.bom.gov.au/products/radar_transparencies/"

That will help the backup image location to work.
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,749
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #722
@ebswift - I've never needed to change that personally but it does look like they're using a cdn for those now, so that might make sense.

I have some work to do on it to make it Krypton friendly but I am really struggling to find the time - I had a quick look but couldn't work out why some of the forecast icons weren't coming up at a quick glance. So will need to dig deeper, and make some Krypton skin files I suppose.

I'm not such a big fan of the new skin, though, so a combination of being busy and getting annoyed every time I fire up Krypton means I haven't found the right bit of time & motivation yet!

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
RB0135 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #723
Love the add-on. Finally one that provides correct data for my location.

However, I have a question which I cant find any answers to (I've done many searches, maybe with the wrong search term), and I think it is probably more related to how Kodi (16.1)/Xonfluence skin works.

So, here goes:
What determines when it is night or day? Sounds a strange question, but my Oz Weather never shows any "night" images, only the sun, or clouds with the sun, etc.

As a programmer, I would program my add-on not to rely on other settings (such as from Kodi) and rely purely on the system time. However, I doubt OzWeather is relying on the time but a trigger from Kodi.. maybe?

Am I looking in the right direcction?

Can anyone shed any light onto this?

Thanks,
Rob
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,749
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #724
@RB1035

Ozweather does nothing with respect to time.

Well, I am not sure how it works in that area TBH - I would presume that's simply a skin thing, swapping in night icons, but it's possible that skin needs some special labels set or something

As is typical with Kodi, I've not found a definitive list of weather labels anywhere and queries have gone unanswered for the most part. That's actually the same issue with Krypton support I think - although I tried to look at what other addons were settings and copy that, so at the moment it's a bit of an unknown why in Krypton some icons are missing in general, let along the night ones!

I will do some digging, hopefully in the not too distant future...

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
RB0135 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #725
(2016-09-27 01:36)bossanova808 Wrote:  @RB1035

Ozweather does nothing with respect to time.

Well, I am not sure how it works in that area TBH - I would presume that's simply a skin thing, swapping in night icons, but it's possible that skin needs some special labels set or something

As is typical with Kodi, I've not found a definitive list of weather labels anywhere and queries have gone unanswered for the most part. That's actually the same issue with Krypton support I think - although I tried to look at what other addons were settings and copy that, so at the moment it's a bit of an unknown why in Krypton some icons are missing in general, let along the night ones!

I will do some digging, hopefully in the not too distant future...

Thanks.

I haven't given up on finding why either, so if I find a solution, or a simple why, then I will post back.

When you say "special labels set" are you referring to an xml file value option being set or something different?

Thanks again,
Rob
find quote
bossanova808 Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,749
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 52
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post: #726
@RB1035

Basically the addon is just some (really gross) python that scrapes weatherzone (and downloads a few images from the BOM) - and sets some skin label values that the skins then pick up on and display. The key thing is to know which labels to set. Seems easy, but they're not documented very well - either the label names to set the values for, or what the values should actually be. Basically you have to pull apart a working addon to work it out, which is a bit of a PITA, but do-able .... it's what I did way back in 2012 or whenever. But some labels have changed etc over time...and some skins define their own special labels for extra features...

Sorry, no help w/out a *full debug log*
find quote
RB0135 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sep 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #727
Thanks for the reply and info. Much appreciated. Rob
find quote
Post Reply