Basic requirements for simple 1080p playback?
I have a Bravia 1080p panel with an Onkyo reciever with 5.1 surround. My current 6 year old dual-core Dell has only stereo output and unreliable FPS. What I'm looking for is a PC that can play 1080p movies via HDMI into my bravia (Including VC-1) and output 5.1 surround into the Onkyo (The Onkyo accepts HDMI, Optical etc).

I don't need anything else, its not for gaming and I keep the PS3 for 3D Bluray. Really, I don't wanna buy anything more than is necessary for the above, I was looking at some options but just realised they were probably overkill. I'm a hardware noob to be honest.

What should I be looking for? I'll be using XBMC on PC, I just found it last night and I'm very excited to use it.
As far as I know something as simple as the machine I have would fit the bill (see sig), i.e. Atom D510 CPU and Ion2 onboard GPU.

If you're a hardware noob you might however be a Linux noob too, so if you want to avoid the risk of minor commmand line tinkering, you'd probably want to run XBMC on top of Windows and then a machine like mine may or may not be enough, I dont quite now. I myself run XBMC Live (= XBMC "integrated" with a stripped Ubunto OS) which runs very lean. There's also Elec, of which I don't know much, other than that it's very easy on sys resources.

On those notes I may add that I am myself a complete linux noob, but brave enough to have dipped into a few command line measures to make it all work perfectly.

My best advice is to start by checking out the excellent stickies at the top of this forum.
HTPC: LibreELEC 7 on Shuttle XS35GTv2 & Raspberry Pi 3
NAS: NAS4Free 2x 3TB Raid1
Hi,

i also have a similar set up to orclas.

i have an acer revo r3700 (atom 1.8Ghz dual core, 4GB ram, Nvidia ION2 GPU and a 500GB internal hard drive).
this set up is able to play 1080p files without issues once vdpau is enabled.