Release - PlayIt service : Play hosted video url remotely on XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Vote(s) - 4.9 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mujunk Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #406
If I had one wish to make, I would wish for this add-on to be revived. Ajay my friend, wherever you are, be safe.
find quote
peppe_sr Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 850
Joined: Mar 2006
Reputation: 9
Location: Italia, Sicilia, Siracusa
Post: #407
yes this was an amazing service!!!
find quote
blindhai Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #408
*agreed* Have to use "Play to XBMC" to have the ability to queue the file to the xbmc.
find quote
ykhehra1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #409
Is it not working with latest versions of Chrome? It stopped few months ago, I tried to reinstall many time but no go. Working fine on firefox on same system.

use +/- ⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓⇓
find quote
blindhai Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #410
(2014-11-25 19:55)ykhehra1 Wrote:  Is it not working with latest versions of Chrome? It stopped few months ago, I tried to reinstall many time but no go. Working fine on firefox on same system.

I don't think it is supported anymore on chrome. I am even not sure that it is developed anymore. I use "Play to XMBC/Kodi" now, PlayIt was better I think but "Play to" works also.
find quote
muneco Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #411
As far as I could see there's a problem in turtlex so that playIt service cannot start.
In the file "GoogleAnalytics.py" there is hard coded reference to "xbmc.log"
Just touch xbmc.log in the temporary directory where the kodi.log file sits (something like ~/.kodi/tmp/) or change the according lines in GoogleAnalytics.py and rename the file GoogleAnalytics.pyo.

muneco
find quote
TomFreeloader Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #412
I posted about this earlier, now it seems my post is gone? But on my hackitosh, I made a symlink to the new kodi.log and it works fine for me now.

(My home folders name is Tom)

ln -s /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/kodi.log /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/XBMC.log

may be able to do something similar on Linux and Windows, not for sure. I kept getting a startup error about credentials. Also, I use Firefox too instead of Chrome.

(2014-12-29 01:19)muneco Wrote:  As far as I could see there's a problem in turtlex so that playIt service cannot start.
In the file "GoogleAnalytics.py" there is hard coded reference to "xbmc.log"
Just touch xbmc.log in the temporary directory where the kodi.log file sits (something like ~/.kodi/tmp/) or change the according lines in GoogleAnalytics.py and rename the file GoogleAnalytics.pyo.

muneco

Thanks for sharing that. I will go mess with the GoogleAnalytics.py now. The bad part about my post above is that I ran MacCleanse ( a temp file/log cleaner app) and it deleted my symlink lol. So I had to run the command again. Your solution seems better maybe...

ETA: So I edited the GoogleAnalytics.py and changed the few appearances of xbmc.log to kodi.log, saved the file and it works. Although I didn't have to rename it to GoogleAnalytics.pyo. I deleted the original GoogleAnalytics.pyo. and it rebuilt it when I started Kodi. I used textmate to edit the .py file and it did the trick. Thanks again! Cool
(This post was last modified: 2014-12-29 06:40 by TomFreeloader.)
find quote
muneco Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #413
(2014-12-29 04:11)TomFreeloader Wrote:  ln -s /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/kodi.log /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/XBMC.log

you used capital letters. Maybe
Code:
ln -s /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/kodi.log /Users/Tom/Library/Logs/xbmc.log
will work.

(2014-12-29 04:11)TomFreeloader Wrote:  ETA: So I edited the GoogleAnalytics.py and changed the few appearances of xbmc.log to kodi.log, saved the file and it works. Although I didn't have to rename it to GoogleAnalytics.pyo. I deleted the original GoogleAnalytics.pyo. and it rebuilt it when I started Kodi. I used textmate to edit the .py file and it did the trick. Thanks again! Cool

youre right. you can simply delete GoogleAnalytics.pyo and it will be rebuilt. Didnt know that, tnx
find quote
LiM3 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #414
Got PlayIt working on RPi Openelec Kodi 5.0.0. Just editing .py file and changing xmbc.log entries -> kodi.log and deleting .pyo.
Firefox and Chrome plugins are both working for youtube videos.

But my problem is Zappy's Glasses. It's been great software to stream random clips from desktop pc downloads folder. Couldn't get Zappy to work with Kodi. Anyone tried or succesfully using Zappy?
(This post was last modified: 2015-01-04 23:32 by LiM3.)
find quote
TomFreeloader Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #415
(2015-01-04 23:30)LiM3 Wrote:  Got PlayIt working on RPi Openelec Kodi 5.0.0. Just editing .py file and changing xmbc.log entries -> kodi.log and deleting .pyo.
Firefox and Chrome plugins are both working for youtube videos.

But my problem is Zappy's Glasses. It's been great software to stream random clips from desktop pc downloads folder. Couldn't get Zappy to work with Kodi. Anyone tried or succesfully using Zappy?

I found an alternative to the Zappy's Glasses, and this one has an added feature of also streaming torrents too.
I haven't tried it on all my machines yet but it's working well in Linux tonight. Not for sure on all the formats yet either but it did MP4 video and mp3 audio just fine. Check it out https://torrentv.github.io/
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-09 08:39 by TomFreeloader.)
find quote
Chiosc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #416
Is there a similar addon that supports sending sopcast, acestreams to xbmc?
find quote
nahannidog Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #417
Hello, Wow, awesome Add-on!
Of course I have a video url request to add:
http://new.livestream.com/xcountrylive/
Please note, despite the name of livestream, these are rarely live but rather usually archived.

Tnx again!
find quote
biGdada Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #418
hi.
i've been using this addon for ages on firefox, now i'm migrating to chrome(firefox became really slow and buggy). i tried to install and configure it but it just doesnt work.
when i click the button nothing happens, not even an error message. is there some kind of error log or something?
find quote
Post Reply