[atv2] A peek into future possibilities.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #1
What am I up to now, bruhahahaha ?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14341410/IMG_0038.MOV


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #2
1080 output? Confused
find quote
khaoohs Offline
Donor
Posts: 76
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Care to elaborate?
find quote
maruchan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
From what I can read, the terminal output is something like:

Code:
root# ./app_test
unable to register bootsrap port.com.apple.CARenderServer
main|pe quartzl <CADisplay: TVOut AppleRGBOUT>
qrtz displays:
        <CADisplay TVOut AppleRGBOUTv (1280_000000 720_000000) <CADisplayMode 1280x720: pixelAspect 1>
            <CADisplayMode 720x480: pixelAspect 3>
            <CADisplayMode 640x480: pixelAspect 3>
            <CADisplayMode ??? x 600: pixelAspect 1>
            <CADisplayMode 1024x768: pixelAspect 1>
            <CADisplayMode 1280x720: pixelAspect 3>
            
        Displays:
            TVOutAppleRGBOUT)    [null] size (0.000000, 0.000000), blank 0
                * I can haz signal
            using TVOut as primary dsp, Tvout((null))
            Force vblank as TVOut (state: 0)
            unblank on TVOut (state: 0)
            qrtz displays:
                <CADisplay TVOut AppleRGBOUT> (1280.000000 720.000000)
            displays:
                TVOut(AppleRGBOUT), inull size (0.000000, 0.000000), blank 0
                
root# ./app_test
app_test(195.70) purple stuff is running

I don't see anything that indicates it's outputting at 1080p, but it does look like he's playing with the resolutions or the refresh rates.
find quote
newatv2user Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 27
Post: #5
Are we getting more hardware decoding support? Smile
find quote
maruchan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I'm guessing it's adjusting the refresh rate to match the video file, rather than just playing everything at 60hz. They recently implemented this in the OSX version so it wouldn't be a stretch to assume that they've been playing around with an iOS implementation. I could be completely wrong. 1080p output would be delicious though. :9
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #7
Quote:root# ./app_test

Standalone app drawing something to the screen even if AppleTV.app is running. Works outside of frontrow Smile This was not possible a week ago. Think about it.

@maruchan, HAHHA, don't tell me you typed all that in Smile


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
newatv2user Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 27
Post: #8
davilla Wrote:Standalone app drawing something to the screen even if AppleTV.app is running. Works outside of frontrow Smile This was not possible a week ago. Think about it.

@maruchan, HAHHA, don't tell me you typed all that in Smile

What's the advantage of this for XBMC? That's all I care. Big Grin
find quote
stoli Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 2,409
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 31
Location: Florida
Post: #9
If I'm not mistaken it means ability to boot direct to XBMC and not have any overhead of FrontRow. I'm sure there is more to it than that, but that sounds good to me. Smile

Or I could be completely clueless on this!
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-04 22:44 by stoli.)
find quote
newatv2user Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 295
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 27
Post: #10
So we'll have better performance on software decoding? Cool.

But I still need the Netflix on frontrow. So maybe a root menu to select either XBMC or frontrow/lowtide would be needed.
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #11
newatv2user Wrote:So we'll have better performance on software decoding? Cool.

But I still need the Netflix on frontrow. So maybe a root menu to select either XBMC or frontrow/lowtide would be needed.

see http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2398272,00.asp


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
mr.b Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 165
Joined: May 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
I think apple was going to get around to appstore on an ATV-like device pretty soon on their own (or release an arm-based macbook air). Glad that there are people forcing things to move a bit faster Smile

It's cool to see devices that could function as PCs for most users in the sub $100 level (and way lower like the Raspberry Pi @ $35).
find quote
davilla Offline
Retired-Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 11,508
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 64
Post: #13
wooot; step 2 is complete Smile

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14341410/IMG_0041.MOV


MediaInfo : http://mediainfo.sourceforge.net/
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
find quote
maruchan Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 277
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Seems like you're able to tap into the GPU/OpenGLES outside of FrontRow? How much of an impact on resources does running apps outside of FrontRow have? Is a significant amount of CPU/RAM freed up? Would be nice if we saw a UI performance boost out of this.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,584
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 116
Location: germany
Post: #15
davilla Wrote:wooot; step 2 is complete Smile

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14341410/IMG_0041.MOV

We should prepare "mv XBMC.frappliance XBMC.app" then as it looks Big Grin

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Post Reply