hi there i have just built my first htpc,specs are

antec fusion case

gigabyte:Z68MA-D2H-B3 M/B
I5 2500K CPU
8GB RAM
WINDOWS 7 64BIT
LITE-ON BLU-RAY DRIVE
CORSAIR 5OOW PSU

iam using the inel graphics and the m/b audio, the problem is that all the music files yhat i have are flac files, i use an hdmi cable from the mobo to a yamaha rx-v1067 avr reciever, but it will only output pcm for music and icant get the true-hd audio either with my blu-ray, will i need a sound card to be able to listen to my media properly, as i said this is my first attempt at an htpc any help would be great
Actually that all sounds right: FLAC is PCM, just losslessly compressed, and XBMC passes TrueHD as PCM. You're as good as the current XBMC audio system can do for now. You won't see the TrueHD light up on the amp, nor DTS-HD, but those will come along in future releases.
System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon  AVR-3808CI  - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player  - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray  - X-Box 360  - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
PS - welcome to the forums Big Grin
System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon  AVR-3808CI  - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player  - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray  - X-Box 360  - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
cheers dddamian thanks for your input, is there anything other than xbmc that could do better or am i just being to picky