[linux] Corrupt Hard drive HELP!
I have openelec with EDEN beta,

I edited my Videos and TV shows to point at folders on my expansion drive (2TB external drive). It started to scan and now all my videos are gone! I check the hard drive on my windows laptop and it says the folder is corrupt!

HOW THE F*CK does XBMC CORRUPT a hard drive! WTF WTF.

If anyone can help.
So running chkdsk in windows, but its going to take about 10+ hours at this rate to finish verifying. I certainly hopes it recovers my stuff.

BUT WHY did this happen? How can xbmc corrupt an external drive? How can I prevent it from happening again.
There are numerous things that could have happened, and while I am no expert I would not point the finger at XBMC. If it was the culprit you would see many other instances of this occurring.

One of the possibilities is your hard drive is going out. So I would back anything up on there that is important on the drive.

Check out here for some other causes (one of the first results of a quick google search).
Yeah I know, thats why I was like wtf. but its a brand new external drive and thus far, never happened before. IMMEDIATELY noticed it after canceling a media scan... first media scan I've ever done, even though I've been running openelec for 2 months. No problems before this. I think it was xbmc or at the very least openelec/linux... no improper disconnecting. No power shortage. chkdsk fixed it (after 12+ hours for the verification).
I've had a similar issue with a 6 month old 2TB SATA drive from Western Digital (WD20EARS Caviar Green), what dies after trying the CDAlbumArt plugin (it ran about 10 hours creating the inital database with heavy drive operations).

Seems to crashed / overheatet the controler. The drive spins up and positions the heads on startup, but is no longer recognized by the BIOS / no longer accessible. It could also be a firmware issue. It not seems to have a head crash or so - no strange operation noises.