Initial thoughts - New HTPC build
Star 
Triple post!!! Please remove.

Hey guys,

First of all, a big thankyou to all the contributers to this forum. You do a great job and don't even get paid for it!

It's been a while since I built a pc, in fact, for those who remember such technologies, the first pc I ever built used an Intel 386 SX cpu and the last one I built used an Intel 486 DX2 which was pretty cutting edge stuff! Things have changed a little since then therefore before I go and hit the 'buy' button I would like you to cast your eyes over my component list to make sure I'm on the right track. I've read the excellent stickies and countless threads to get a real world idea of what's what but it can become a bit of a mush after a while.

I've been running XBMC for a couple of years now using an old laptop, an external 5.1 sound card and the vga port but it's time for a change, especially with Eden in beta. I use a NAS for all my storage and my AV all goes through an Onkyo TX-NR609.

Using Eskro's grouping model I suppose I'm a group 5 but want the ability to become a group 6/7 without throwing anything away. The HTPC needs to be able to run Linux and be used as a general (non-gaming) PC now and again. I will dual boot it with Win 7 and eventually stick with whatever works out best for me until such time as my requirements change.

The component list is also based on what I can find locally, I live in the UK.

So here it is:

[Case] Silverstone Milo ML03B

[Mobo] Asus P8H67-M PRO Rev.3.0, Intel H67, S 1155, DDR3, SATA III - 6Gb/s, RAID SATA, PCIe 2.0 (x16), Micro ATX

[CPU/GPU] Intel Core i3 2105, S1155, Sdy Bridge, 3.1GHz, 5GT/s, HD3000 IGP

[Storage] 60GB Corsair Force Series GT, 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s SSD

[RAM] 4GB (2x2GB) Corsair DDR3 XMS3 Classic, PC3-10666 (1333)

[PSU] 350W PSU, Be Quiet Efficient Power BN185, 92% Eff', 80 PLUS Gold

[Case fans] 2 * 80mm SilenX iXtrema Pro ( 80x80x15mm )