UnRaid vs Synology NAS as a media server
Hey everyone.

I was thinking about getting a Synology NAS server, so that I could store my media (movies/music/etc.) and use it to stream them to my HTPC. I currently have a WHS v1, and thought that a NAS would be an easier solution for me.

Well glancing through the forum here it looks like quite a few have gone with an UnRaid solution. I do not know much about them, so I went to reading. I keep reading that an UnRaid server isn't as quick as other solutions. Would an UnRaid server be quick enough to stream Bluray/DVD/etc. to a HTPC, via Ethernet?

Also, I would love to hear from someone who went from a NAS, like synology, to UnRaid and what the benefits/losses are. Or the other way around, from UnRaid to a NAS.

Also, does it make sense to go from a WHS v1 to an UnRaid/NAS solution? I am not sure I have/need to back up my other computers, so really it has just been a median server.

Thanks!!!
I have no experience with unraid but last year I bought a Synology disc station 1511+ with 15TB and I am very happy with it. I love all the additional functionality it provides. Currently it serves video to my HTPC and 2 AppleTV units all at once with no problems. We also use its Android and iPad apps to browse and store all our digital photos. You can even install torrent and Usenet download clients on it and access them remotely. It is a lot quieter than my HTPC.
I know very little about Synology. What I do know is unRAID does everything neumahn says synology does but for half the price. For the price of a synology 1511 I could build two of my 16 bay servers.
Downside is to get it that cheap you have to build your own and some command line is involved (I hate command line but even I find it quite easy with all the instructions).
I haven't touched my servers in months, they just run without a problem.