can XBMC playback 3D Movies?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #1
Hi guys, all this time i always watched 2D movies on my HTPC.
anyhow, my friend bought an LG 3D FULL HDTV bundled with a LG bluray player.
so i went at his house thinking i could show him 3D playback 'on a computer'
but things went downhill...

i have an AMD Triple-Core CPU + HD6450 GPU + 4GB ram
these definitely can handle 3D 1080P movies.

but after playing with nearly all options in XBMC,
and media player classic,
i couldnt find the way to playback 3D correctly.

the file was a 3D MKV rip taken from the internet.
i know i know, maybe a bad rip, but it isnt...
my friend's LG bluray player played the MKV without a hitch!
it actually look fantastic!

but when i tried the same MKV in XBMC (windows7),
result was not good.

the two images seemed wayy too separated.
I could still see 3D with the glasses but it seemed weird and got tired....
Without the glasses I could clearly see the two images overlapped
but separated by at least ~5cm.
also, ~3 cm or so on each side were black when using the glasses, making the 3D image smaller.

i even took his HDMI 1.4 cable that was hooked on his LG bluray player
thinking it was maybe my HDMI cable that was culprit.

im far from being a 3D guru Tongue
i also played with nearly all options in my ATI control panel...
but in vain Sad
now, i dont know whats left for me to try....

is XBMC capable of handling 3D?

or i have to use PowerDVD or TMT5??

thanks.
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-15 09:20 by eskro.)
find quote
ZombieRobot Offline
Fan
Posts: 714
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 4
Location: Mount Maunganui , New Zealand
Post: #2
I not too sure you could check here for answers i didn't read all the thread but sounds like they had some problems
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #3
I watched blu-ray in 3d with my inlaw HDTV last year using HD6450 GPU and TMT5. It worked very similar to the standalone 3d blu-ray player. I never try 3d with XBMC, and I doubt that it can playback fluently with XBMC. I configured TMT5 as shown in this tutorial- TotalMedia Theatre 5.

If you like it, you can setup TMT5 as an external player with this "playercorefactory". It'll playback "title_3d.mkv) using TMT5, and other "title.mkv" still playback with XBMC. Smile

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
RavenNL Offline
Fan
Posts: 329
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Netherlands
Post: #4
xbmc plays 3d half sbs just fine.

But do not zoom the picture that's when you get that effect what you are saying that the picture is not on top of the other picture. When I watch a normal movie and it has those black bars in it, i usually zoom it a bit to 110% just to less of thos black bars. But you can't do that with 3d movies, because the 2 pictures won't be on top of each other and will cause that effect you are mentioning.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #5
thanks guys for all the answers...
i'll definitely try TMT5 at my friends house next time.
however, i believe TMT5 wont fix the issues im experiencing in my 1st post.

the fact that the two images seemed wayy too separated.
I could still see 3D with the glasses but it seemed weird and got tired of it....
Without the glasses I could clearly see the two images overlapped
but separated by at least ~5cm.
also, ~3 cm or so on each side of the screen is black when using the glasses,
making the 3D image smaller and not full screen.

also, RavenNL, i did not zoom in anyway shape or form...

but i've read while google'ing my issue, that someone appears to have fixed this issue by simply:
#1- setting the underscan/overscan in AMD CONTROL CENTER to "%0" ...
#2- setting his TV to "Just Scan" or "Screen Fit" in the aspect ration/image options

however, i haven't try that yet, but im eager to see if that will do it!!
thanks again guys
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-15 17:39 by eskro.)
find quote
TechLife Offline
Donor
Posts: 592
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 20
Location: Aurora, CO
Post: #6
Well go try it out eskro! lol

I've been wondering about this myself but haven't played around with it yet. I'll probably just wait until MPC-HC or XBMC supports it as I am philosophically opposed to paying money for TMT or PDVD and then more for an update, and oh wait, more for the next update. I'd much rather donate it to the XBMC crew. Not to mention, those players just feel very bloated to me. Maybe they aren't but it just doesn't feel light and streamlined like XBMC and MPC do.

Anyway, good luck man. Let us know how you make out.

*If I helped, please +rep below*
Windows Media Center PVR add-on (pvr.wmc) and Server (ServerWMC)
The XBMC team, plug-in devs, skinners, etc. do this for us for FREE in their spare time because they want to. Think about that for a second before you start bitching...
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-16 04:07 by TechLife.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #7
yes, i'll try to update this thread once i get a chance to try the fix...
dont know when i'll go to my friends house again...
we rarely have time to see each other as everybody has its own thing to do...
ahhh.. life... lol
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #8
eskro Wrote:thanks guys for all the answers...
i'll definitely try TMT5 at my friends house next time.
however, i believe TMT5 wont fix the issues im experiencing in my 1st post.
You and your friend will like the 3D with TMT5...give it a shot! Smile

Me, I hate 3D stuff. I didn't enjoy the movie with 3D. It made me dizzzzzy! :o

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Hunter2-1 Offline
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #9
eskro Wrote:is XBMC capable of handling 3D?

Yes it works for me. I just select 3d sbs on my tv 3d settings.

[Image: 73pkxe.jpg]
[Image: 5kk021.jpg]

3D SBS:
[Image: 302p55z.jpg]
find quote
DejaVu Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,159
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #10
Hunter2-1 Wrote:Yes it works for me. I just select 3d sbs on my tv 3d settings.
This is your TV simulating 3D SBS from a 2D picture. This will work on everything.

XBMC, as far as I know, does not natively support hardcoded 3D SBS (Side-By-Side) playback yet.

If your PC is capable of playing 2650x720 or 3840x1080 you might get away with it.

You can get an external player to replace 'DSPlayer' integrated into XBMC called Steroscopic Player which should do the job, you are going to need a very high end PC I reckon to run it.

Better info is discussed here. I cannot say for sure as I have avoided the 3D hype.

[Image: watched-fanart.jpg]
Maraschino - Web based HTPC Organiser. Keep track of all your web based programs all in one place.
Home Page - Repo - Bug Tracker - Support Forum.
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-15 21:26 by DejaVu.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #11
oh boy, this is confusing Tongue

3D-SBS / FULL 3D / STEREOSCOPIC 3D /

o.O
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #12
eskro Wrote:oh boy, this is confusing Tongue

3D-SBS / FULL 3D / STEREOSCOPIC 3D /

o.O
With proper GPU and TMT5 or PDVD11, there is no confusion. Give it a shot! Smile

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
Crevan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
maybe an overscan/underscan problem...

in the aspect ratio settings of the tv, use the setting "just scan"

on the pc disable the overscan/underscan setting by setting it to 0

see if that works for you
find quote
cleaner450 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hunter2... how did you label your movies so the thumb shows it as a 3d movie.. Mine have been not finding the images for the thumb with the 3d in the title

Also what Skin are you using... it looks really nice!

Thanks for the help

ohh and my 3D movies work fine in XBMC
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #15
@Crevan: will do as soon as i can, thx

@cleaner450: i think its --> Avatar (2009)[b]_3D[/b] / Avatar (2009)[b]_3D.MKV[/b]
(This post was last modified: 2012-01-16 14:12 by eskro.)
find quote
Post Reply