My first UNraid build, thoughts please?
Smile 
Hi All,

I've been reading this forum for probably 6 months now thinking that I would like to start upgrading my storage and viewing solution for media.

I've used various things in the past, from a firmware hacked dvd player with USB input, to Sumvision Micro players, but now I'm looking to spend some real money and get an XBMC client & server setup going.

My total budget for both builds combined (plus some harddrives) is $1000. I'm not massively technical (i have never built a pc before), but I've fixed xboxes, changed components in my PCs and I am technically minded enough to learn as I go with most things electronic. I'm planning on definitely building the server, i'm still not sure what the best route is for HTPC. I may buy an off the shelf solution and revert it to linux and boot XBMC off there... I'll start a new thread when I get around to those decisions though!

Currently, I have two harddrives:

- 1.5Tb Samsung Storybook
- 2Tb Buffalo DriveStation.

I'll be looking to break those drives out of their external cases and utilize them
in the build, but other than that, I have nothing as of yet towards this build.

I do intend to initially buy 2 harddrives to add to my existing capacity to bring my current storage capacity to a max of 9.5TB storage (assuming I can get 3TB drives soon) until I need to expand again. I'm going to account for those in my budget and bring it down a notch, so resulting budget is now $700.

A couple of months ago, I donated a few bucks and picked up a .pdf HTPC/Server guide from Renethx @AVS Forums, which has been quite helpful. I'll be using that, and information from here as the basis for my setup. The thing that seems most difficult is ensuring all parts are the latest options, as sometimes i'll read a recommendation and it ends up being from a year or more ago.

So all that said, here's my idea so far....

Server Setup:

[OS] UNraid Pro ($119)