DXVA2, Artifacts & Stuttering
Hello.

I've been running XBMC for a couple of years off a laptop that couldn't play anything higher than 720p. I recently bought a new Gateway core i5 desktop and am using that as a HTPC and currently running Eden and watching big fat 1080p files.

With DXVA2 enabled I get occasional artifacts in certain spots in certain mkv files. I know that many recommend disabling DXVA2, saying the core ix CPUs are robust enough to not need it but, when I did, I noticed occasional stuttering while playing back certain scenes in high bitrate files--The opening battle scene of "Revenge of the Sith" for instance. CPU is around 20% but the VCPU can go as high as 101% at some points. The stuttering also happens on an older i3 I have.

So it seems I can either leave DXVA on and experience occasional artifacts OR leave it off and experience occasional stuttering.

I know these problems have been discussed elsewhere but I'm not sure a solution was ever arrived at.
I think you're stuck with picking the lesser of two evils. The built in graphics on the i3/i5/i7's have some sporatic problems when DVXA2 is enabled. I will say that it is much better under Eden than Dharma.
Would installing a video card solve the problem?
In Win7 yes.
System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon  AVR-3808CI  - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player  - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray  - X-Box 360  - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
Being a complete non-gamer and considering this rig would only be used for watching movies, I keep seeing the Radeon 6450 mentioned as a good choice.

Keeping in mind my system is now playing 99.9% of my videos flawlessly, would I be able to get by with something cheaper?
A 6450 will work great however I don't see any reason why your i5 would be struggling with software decoding a high bitrate video.