XBMC 11.0 Eden: RC 1 available now

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
natethomas Offline
Team Kodi Community Manager
Posts: 3,752
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 63
Location: Kansas
Brick  XBMC 11.0 Eden: RC 1 available now
Post: #1
Today we are excited to announce Eden Release Candidate 1. It has been a productive few weeks since Beta 3, as we’ve ironed out numerous minor (and one or two major) bugs.

In particular, we’ve:

Given preference to external subtitles over internal subtitles
Updated a number of XBMC translations for final release
Resolved a number of outstanding Airplay issues
Allowed specified movie sets to be sorted by title, rather than year, without changing the default sort order on other sets.
We’ve also added the useful feature of IP weather look up. Now, on a clean install of XBMC, users will no longer need to manually enter their weather location. Instead, XBMC will simply check the IP location of your box and auto-set the weather.

For a complete rundown on changes made since February 9th, feel free to visit here.

Now you all know what to do. Head on over to our download page, pick your favorite version of XBMC, and let us know how the experience goes in the comments.

One additional note: The new release of XBMCbuntu is currently delayed due to packaging issues. We will update this post with new info when it is ready.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

[Image: badge.gif]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-08 12:01 by zag.)
find
Amadeus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Downloaded RC1 last night onto my MacMini (running Lion).
I'm amazed how good it is. I've yet to find any problems with it, other than the presenter list in the TED add-in not showing a complete list, but that's not an issue with XBMC per se (I assume).

Thanks to all who have made it possible. I'm very impressed.
find
castalla Offline
Fan
Posts: 570
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
Quote: Instead, XBMC will simply check the IP location of your box and auto-set the weather.

Hope it can be set to non-auto ... it's so inaccurate to be worthless. My ip reports as Madrid and I'm over 250 miles east!

The upnp renderering is still badly broken with double (and possibly triple) listings of albums and artists. I'm carping because I assume M stands for media in XBMC!!!
find
j0rdan Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Accrington, UK
Smile   
Post: #4
Big Grin

I love 'sudo apt-get upgrade'

Big Grin

Thanks
find
tcman47 Offline
Fan
Posts: 426
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1
Location: Naperville, IL
Post: #5
Appreciate all the hard work, beta 3 worked well for me, expect RC1 to be even better, will install tonight after I get home from work.

TC Nod

Loft - Intel I5-3570K, Asus P8Z77-LX, Corsair 16GB DDR3, AMD HD 7700, AOC 27" LCD
Bedroom - Intel I3-530, Intel DH55HC, Corsair 4GB DDR3, Nvidia G610, Samsung 37" HDTV
Living Room - Intel E8400, Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H, 4GB DDR2, Nvidia G610, Samsung 52" HDTV
find
jabbba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I have some major issues since installing RC1. Video on my Apple TV is very jerky and HD is unwatchable. What is going on? Similar issues manifested itself on earlier version only if I enabled Audio/Video sync.
find
jabbba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Downgraded to beta 3, problem is gone. I am so surprised, every beta release was rock solid and progressively better, RC1 is a step back.
find
SALAMINOMACHOS Offline
Fan
Posts: 423
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: PIRAEUS GREECE
Post: #8
At last i can see the external subtitles
One more comment.
I can see a Huge difference in CPU Usage
Much better now Thanks a lot....................
find
thewarm Offline
Fan
Posts: 322
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Seattle
Post: #9
I did a fresh install on my Win 7 x86 workstation. Looks good. If I "jump" forward in Video Podcasts I no longer see that cache full message.

Now for the real question...On my HTPC (also running Win 7 32bit). Should I install this over the top of Eden beta 3, or do a fresh install?

Thanks all

update: I was wrong. While watching an episode of Tekzilla, I used the right arrow to jump ahead and got that nasty "Cache full" pop-up again... oh well.
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-29 03:56 by thewarm.)
find
TeKo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 964
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 11
Post: #10
I just installed over since nightly before beta1 no problems with b1, b2, b3 or RC1.
find
thewarm Offline
Fan
Posts: 322
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Seattle
Post: #11
Thanks, will give it a try...

update: Upgraded over the top no problem! Seems snappier too!!
(This post was last modified: 2012-02-28 20:29 by thewarm.)
find
weilah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
TeKo Wrote:I just installed over since nightly before beta1 no problems with b1, b2, b3 or RC1.

Should i backup something? Or just install the RC1 over the beta3 and it will all be updated?

Thanks
find
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,028
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #13
weilah Wrote:Should i backup something? Or just install the RC1 over the beta3 and it will all be updated?

Thanks

Welcome to the forums. Yes, 99% of the time users simply install over and everything updates smoothly. Your database will be preserved (and new versions created if upgrading from before Beta 3).

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
find
weilah Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Ok thank you.

And sorry, it was my first post and i just ask without thank you all the xbmc team for this amazing software.... So thank you.

i tried the Linux version, the live XBMC version and finally the windows version. The last one is the easy way to get my Remote Control working properly.


Let's see how runs this new RC1 Smile
find
rugbymad Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Dundee Scotland
Post: #15
is it ok to install over dharma 10.1?

Thanks again everybody for the hard work it is much appreciated!!!!

Acer revo 3700 with Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit
find
Thread Closed