XBMC with apple tv 2

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
OccupyCouch Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
I find that I already have everything I need without any need for a NAS or sickbeard/couchpotato usenet solutions due to add-ons like 1Channel and navi-x.
find quote
go501 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Have you heard about powerline networking?. That is faster than wi-fi. My modem and router and media server (amahi) is in the basement which always on, my appleTV is in the main receiving room, desktop (win7 running xbmc on my kids rooms), appletv on master bedroom and an HTPC on the Rec room. They're all using powerline networking, no cabling and local/online streaming is fast.

if you don't like your local streaming source to be on all the time and you want online streaming, install 1Channel addons, its better than icefilms.
find quote
dchandok Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
So help me. Assuming i have a Apple TV with xmbc, can i directly stream movies from a network drive (wired/wireless) directly to HDTV, without having a mac (or windows running iTunes) in between?
Something of this kind is possible through western digital...
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,341
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 276
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #19
(2012-07-15 06:31)dchandok Wrote:  So help me. Assuming i have a Apple TV with xmbc, can i directly stream movies from a network drive (wired/wireless) directly to HDTV, without having a mac (or windows running iTunes) in between?
Something of this kind is possible through western digital...

Yes, it's a full install of XBMC. See iOS FAQ and the general XBMC FAQs linked on that page.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
HenryFord Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,271
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 19
Post: #20
(2012-04-02 19:48)go501 Wrote:  Have you heard about powerline networking?
But you have to be carefull with that since this may trigger other problems. The solution is quite good, if you have everything in place. But you need to know how your house is wired. I for one have two different power-cycles for my living room and the rest of the rooms, since my actual router is connected in the living room, I couldn't use powerline networking easily...
Just an example, but you have to be on the lookout.
You _can_ have problems with interference, noisy powerlines, etc. - in the end it totally depends on the wiring in your home.

Need help? Check out my XBMC Frodo Guide. It contains full featured guides to Sickbeard and CouchPotato as well.

[Image: all-fanart.jpg]
find quote
Post Reply