[RELEASE] Artist Slideshow 1.3.0 addon (with skin and addon integration)

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,139
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #46
(2012-03-30 19:30)NisseDILLIGAF Wrote:  @pkscuot

have a look at my last commit...
https://github.com/NisseDILLIGAF/script....4cf2587e6d

sometimes last.fm has no album image, then it just shows http://cdn.last.fm/flatness/catalogue/no...medium.png

Seems a harmless enough fix. Do a pull request and I'll get it integrated into the main branch.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #47
(2012-03-27 23:52)pkscuot Wrote:  Or you're not holding your tongue the right way when you start the music visualization. Either is equally plausible. Big Grin

I think it was my left foot Tongue

Btw do you know a quick way to alter the script so the images get stored in folders named by artist? (Ofcourse i haven't looked at the code yet)
That way i could mass download new backdrops to beef up the fanart.tv site

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-30 22:14 by Martijn.)
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,139
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #48
(2012-03-30 22:11)Martijn Wrote:  Btw do you know a quick way to alter the script so the images get stored in folders named by artist? (Ofcourse i haven't looked at the code yet)
That way i could mass download new backdrops to beef up the fanart.tv site

On line 274 replace:
Code:
CacheName = xbmc.getCacheThumbName(self.NAME).replace('.tbn', '')

with:
Code:
CacheName = self.NAME

I think that should do it. The files themselves will still have hashed names with .tbn as the extension, but changing them to .jpg should be fine. If I recall, the fanart.tv folks were very picky about image size and quality, so you'll probably want to set artist slideshow to only download stuff that's 1920x1080 or larger.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #49
Thx will try it tomorrow.
If i add .replace('.png','.jpg') that will solve the extention. Maybe need some other tweaking to make nicer filenames for better sorting.

Yeah I know they are very picky on quality Big Grin
Luckily I am one of the admins on fanart.tv overseeing the process at the moment Wink
So i know what we need.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-31 02:32 by Martijn.)
find quote
ronie Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 9,487
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 167
Post: #50
(2012-03-31 02:27)Martijn Wrote:  Luckily I am one of the admins on fanart.tv overseeing the process at the moment Wink
So i know what we need.

more beer, right?

Always read the Kodi online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not PM or e-mail Team-Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #51
(2012-03-31 02:30)ronie Wrote:  
(2012-03-31 02:27)Martijn Wrote:  Luckily I am one of the admins on fanart.tv overseeing the process at the moment Wink
So i know what we need.

more beer, right?

Indeed and preferably the special ones Big Grin

Edit:
could you also add
PHP Code:
option="writeable" 
to the settings.xml so you can create subfolder when selecting the slideshow folder

Edit2:
grrrr same problem again on a new install.... and also on my HTPC

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-31 11:19 by Martijn.)
find quote
mehrunes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #52
Is there no new version for Dharma?
With 0.1.0, I have the problem of the artist slideshow displaying pictures of an artist even if the next song with a different artist has started.
I can only solve this with complete restart of XBMC and then it will happen again more sooner than later. Any ideas?
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #53
OK I found out it has to do with setting the custom paths in the add-on settings

Side note:
had to do some more code crashing to fix it downloading to the right folders and change the file extension

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-03-31 16:38 by Martijn.)
find quote
pkscout Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,139
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 23
Location: Honolulu, HI
Post: #54
(2012-03-31 13:47)mehrunes Wrote:  Is there no new version for Dharma?
With 0.1.0, I have the problem of the artist slideshow displaying pictures of an artist even if the next song with a different artist has started.
I can only solve this with complete restart of XBMC and then it will happen again more sooner than later. Any ideas?

Sorry, no. The current version won't be back ported to Dharma. You really should look into upgrading to Eden when you have a chance.
find quote
mehrunes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #55
I'm very new to XBMC, can someone please point me to a short explanation of how to update to a new version? There seems to be no included update function.
find quote
fredphoesh Offline
Donor
Posts: 276
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 1
Location: South of London North of Brighton
Post: #56
(2012-04-06 15:08)mehrunes Wrote:  I'm very new to XBMC, can someone please point me to a short explanation of how to update to a new version? There seems to be no included update function.

AFAIK you just need to install the new version, http://xbmc.org/
find quote
puulima Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #57
Stumbled upon this add-on while trying to figure out how to the the LastFM add-on to work automatically like a visualization...very cool. But couple of Q's
- do mods still need to be made with various xml's to get this add-on to work?
- will this work with AEON-NOX (I'm using 3.0)

This would be a huge win if I can get this working as my wife hates the other "squirrely" visualizations...
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #58
Works with Nox3.0
(maybe not fully functional yet)

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-13 00:02 by Martijn.)
find quote
puulima Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 212
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #59
Do I need to edit any xml's though? I have it installed and configured...but nothing is happening?
find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 12,152
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 170
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #60
(2012-04-13 00:02)puulima Wrote:  Do I need to edit any xml's though? I have it installed and configured...but nothing is happening?

No you should not. but like i said....

3.0 is WIP and every one should just some patience until it is finished!!

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-13 00:13 by Martijn.)
find quote
Post Reply