PVR Conflict Management
As I continue my migration to using Kodi as my full time front end I've noticed some key PVR features that don't seem to be in place.

1) conflict notifications - it doesn't seem that you are notified if a recording cannot take place due to too many scheduled timers. It would be nice to get an option to choose which to proceed with

2) Series/Timer precedence - Ability to set which timers have precedence over others so that if there is a conflict the system can manage them.

3) Tuner in use when timer starts notification - a message with option to release the tuner you're using so the scheduled timer can activate rather than missing your recording

I know these would all require additional work on the pvr addons as well, but currently there is no way to use Kodi as the sole frontend. I still have to go into my pvr software to manage #1 and #2. Apologies if these exist in anyway, I'm fairly new to Kodi but haven't seen these come up at all.
If you use the NextPVR backend conflict and priority options are available in the x-newa addon for Kodi using either web client (which gives you the native NextPVR UI on Kodi) or in more typical python addon style. 3 is automatic as live tv will stop for a timer.

Martin
(2015-01-31, 03:51)emveepee Wrote: If you use the NextPVR backend conflict and priority options are available in the x-newa addon for Kodi using either web client (which gives you the native NextPVR UI on Kodi) or in more typical python addon style. 3 is automatic as live tv will stop for a timer.

Martin

I am using NextPVR and have looked at x-newa. It would just be nice if Kodi had some of these features included into the main program. That way no matter the PVR backend certain messages could be passed through and I don't need to leave my nice consistent looking interface to manage things. Ups the WAF another notch in my opinion.
Your question was to do it from Kodi, but I understand now.