A few basic questions
Hi,
Im new to XBMC (about an hour ago),
i have a purpose built HTPC which I use WMC on at the moment. I saw alot of hype about XBMC so i thought id give it ago
all seems well except no option to use my TV tuner. After reading some info am I right in saying that you cant use a TV with XBMC, unless you
somehow set it as a network location?
I checked out MythTV but all the info i could find seemed abit above me, and I'm usually pretty tech savvy!
I havnt installed any add-ons yet but this seems easy enough it reminds me of Cydia on a JB iPhone.
What im trying to achieve (and from what ive found so are many others) is to be able to use my TV tuner without leaving XBMC. Is
this possible?

many thanks
You can do it, but it isn't going to be something that will work after flying through a few on-screen wizards. As you've already discovered TV watching in XBMC is a 2 fold process. You need a backend to do the recording, and then some way to use XBMC as the client.

If you can get a backend running with the tuner there are several built-in ways of connecting via a video source: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Typ...ic_Sources

If you require more functionality (like the EPG, Live TV, etc) you might want to look into the PVR development branch. The wiki does a good job giving an overview and a place to start but you'll need to compile these trees from scratch (for the most part, there are binary builds but you'll have to cruise the forum to find links). http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=PVR

I currently run a MythTV backend with the CMyth addon, it works great but the entire PVR branch is considered in development so expect some minor issues (and sometimes a major one). For the most part the developers are good at solving these issues but nothing is 100% yet.
As you are using WMC at the moment, you could easily (as I do) go with that quickstarter:
  • download Mediaportal