Location of Skin Settings

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jschoen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Chalmette, Louisiana
Post: #1
I have two atv2s, so I spent some time playing with the settings in Quartz, and have it set up the way I want on one of the atvs. This is really just the options for the home screen I am talking about. Basically using the combination of playlists and favorites, it works very well. My playlists and sources an all that are all ready setup on both using path substitution, so that is good to go.

I am now being lazy and do not want to change everything again. I am wondering what the name of the file is where the settings for the home screen are stored. So at a minimum I can just ftp it over to the other atv2, and be good to go.

Thanks for the help, and great skin by the way. It really works nicely for us here.
find quote
phil65 Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 5,946
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 111
Location: Cologne, Germany
Post: #2
(2012-03-29 04:37)jschoen Wrote:  I have two atv2s, so I spent some time playing with the settings in Quartz, and have it set up the way I want on one of the atvs. This is really just the options for the home screen I am talking about. Basically using the combination of playlists and favorites, it works very well. My playlists and sources an all that are all ready setup on both using path substitution, so that is good to go.

I am now being lazy and do not want to change everything again. I am wondering what the name of the file is where the settings for the home screen are stored. So at a minimum I can just ftp it over to the other atv2, and be good to go.

Thanks for the help, and great skin by the way. It really works nicely for us here.

inside guisettings.xml in userdata folder.
find quote
jschoen Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Chalmette, Louisiana
Post: #3
Thanks pjil65, that worked perfectly.
find quote
fitzy89 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Sorry to drag up an old thread here but I've just been playing with this trying to do the same thing and replicate my settings over several devices running OpenElec/Gotham 13.2.

However once I've copied the relevent lines (the whole <skinsettings> block to avoid error) and saved it, it doesn't seem to take effect. I've tried rebooting afterwards but the settings just don't seem to apply. I've tried switching skins as well (going back to Confluence while making changes, then switching to my chosen skin, Eminence afterwards) but I can't get it to work. After checking the file again it seems to be being overwritten with the original settings on every reboot.

Any ideas?
find quote
mediumdry Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
exit the program/kill the process, change the file to how you want it, start Kodi again.
find quote