HTPC for HyperSpin/XBMC

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
aydin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #1
Hi,

I'm looking to build a HTPC that'll be primarily used for HyperSpin, but will also run XBMC for watching videos, listening to music, etc.

It'll be handling emulation up to PS1/Dreamcast era and will also be used to play 720p content primarily, sometimes 1080p.

Here's the spec that I've come up with - just looking for some advice really to make sure that all the parts are compatible and that I shouldn't encounter any issues putting it together.

Case: SilverStone Milo ML03
Motherboard: MSI H61M-E33-B3
Processor: Intel Core i3 2100 3.10GHz Socket 1155
GPU: Asus GT 520 Silent 2GB DDR3 Low Profile Graphics Card
Memory: Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1066MHz
HDD1: Crucial 64GB M4 SSD - 2.5" SATA-III
HDD2: WD 2TB 3.5" SATA-III 6GB/s Caviar Green Hard Drive
PSU: Antec 380W EarthWatts Green PSU

The SSD will store the OS, HyperSpin and XBMC. The WD 2TB drive will contain the games plus some other media files.

Has anyone done a similar build? Is there anything I should look out for?

At the moment my main concern is whether everything will fit okay in the case?

Thanks in advance for any help/guidance Smile
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #2
oh it'll fit.
but i' get a higher clocked RAM like 1600Mhz.

and since u wanna game, the GPU also come's into play.
not sure how demanding HyperSpin is,
but i'd maybe get a 128Bit GPU. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6814161390
the GT520 is 64bit.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-01 23:45 by eskro.)
find quote
aydin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #3
Thanks Eskro - the spec was based mainly off some of your guides which helped a lot, so thanks for spending the time creating those!

I've replaced the GPU with this (the site I'm ordering from didn't have the HIS, so have gone with Sapphire): Sapphire HD 6570 2GB DDR3
And the memory with this: Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz HyperX Blu Memory Kit CL9 1.65V

Does that look better now?

Cheers.

[Edit] Also, I've heard about certain compatibility issues with i3's and certain speeds/voltages of memory. Is 1600MHz RAM at 1.65V going to work okay with the CPU?

I'm not going to be doing any overclocking on this machine so it'll all just be stock.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-02 15:16 by aydin.)
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #4
GPU is good, will fit in your case.

get 1.5V memory, just to make sure and avoid any potential issues.
http://www.ebuyer.com/266723-kingston-4g...9d3p1k2-4g

this PSU i would get
http://www.ebuyer.com/278493-antec-vp-35...45-06431-6
i prefer the 120mm fan it has to make sure its not noisy.
since your GPU card has a fan too.
350W will be no problem for your system as my current PSU is 350W too.
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-02 21:21 by eskro.)
find quote
aydin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #5
Great, thanks very much for your help!

I've replaced the memory and PSU with your suggestions, so got everything ready to order now.

How do I leave you some rep? Wink
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #6
to give +rep point, see image here --> http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7579/zzzimage000.png
find quote
aydin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #7
Ah, I don't get that option.. I might need a few more posts first or need to be a member for a bit longer.

I'll add some on for you further down the line, and will update the post once I've got the PC up and running.
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #8
right on!!
find quote