E-mail notification popup script
Sad 
i have been looking for a script that would check a pop server for new e-mails and when one is detected there would be a little popup notification in the corner (similar to aim's buddy notification messages). i'd like it to be able to popup while on any screen including visualizations and movies. it doesn't need to have any contents of the email listed (subject/sender/etc.) just that there is/are e-mail(s).

i've seen one e-mail script but it was too tied into the ui. i just want something that is almost completely in the background.

does something like this already exist? if not, is it possible?

thanks.
this would be great.

sure it is possible but i don't know how to script it Sad
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
well, i've taken a look at the caller id script. it seems to do exactly what i want except i want to be notified of new emails. i tried to see if i could mix the email grabbing features of the email script with the display features of the caller id script. this is way over my head having never used python (or any scripting language for that matter).

i think i've figured out the display aspects (how to display subject/sender/etc.), but i cannot figure out how to use the mail script (or other python code) to detect any new email (every 5 minutes or so) and if there is email, pass that information to the display code to get the subject/sender displayed in a method very similar to the caller id script.

any experienced python scripters have any suggestions on where i should get started?

thanks.

note to mods: now that this has become a development question, feel free to move this to the python development forum.
be nice if http could be detected to for hotmail...
you need to use a thread to check the mail. first you locate the function that actually checks the mail. this function you have to execute from the thread you made every five minutes.