AppleTV 1 (silver) - How do i ajust the clock?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi there
I have got hold in a ATV gen. 1 and got aTV Flash on it.

One thing thats bothers me is that is 2 hour behind and i cant ajust it.

I have changed language to Danish, in the settings in XBMC but i can not change the region.

Does anyone have a clue to this?

Best regards
Morten
Denmark
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,842
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 117
Location: germany
Post: #2
set you timezone in the aplletv2 settings - outside of xbmc...

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Well, now, as the headline says, i have a ATV 1, but at last i found some timezone settings in Nito and now the problem are fixet.
find quote
DLeavy Offline
Fan
Posts: 328
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 8
Post: #4
(2012-04-09 14:31)larzendk Wrote:  Well, now, as the headline says, i have a ATV 1, but at last i found some timezone settings in Nito and now the problem are fixet.

For future reference, ATV1 doesn't run iOS, which is the forum you posted in (ATV2 does). You'll want to post in the MacOS forum next time, which deals with the ATV1.
find quote
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Sorry, didn't know that, but that explain why i can't find so much about ATV1 in this subforum. My mistake, i am new to this Apple and Mac stuf.

Best regards
Morten
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 22,443
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 296
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #6
You might want to check out the Broadcom Crystal HD card for your Apple TV 1. It replaces the internal wifi chip, and in exchange allows the ATV1 to playback just about any format in HD without any stutter or frame drops. Turns the 'ol Apple TV into a beast.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
I have installed a BC HD card in it, but i still got a lot of buffering. As far as i can see/read i is a network problem. I use a WIFI bridge to cable so i dont have to put cabels all over the house.
find quote
wrxtasy Online
Fan
Posts: 486
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 5
Location: Perth, Oz
Post: #8
I would highly recommend you run XBMC for the ATV1 off a USB stick using Crystalbuntu (linux) from Sam Nazarko if you already have the BC HD card.
I persisted for a couple of years using the OSX XBMC on the ATV1 and it always had niggling problems with playback.

Sam's Crystalbuntu runs nearly flawlessly and the biggest selling point is its now easy as to install, auto updates, does airtunes, airplay, runs 60fps in 1080p as opposed to 30fps in 720p and is much quicker, smoother and fluid in its playback.

Download the Windows USB installer here:
http://download.stmlabs.com/bin/crystalhd_win.zip

Details here:
http://www.stmlabs.com/projects/crystalhd-for-appletv/

I would also recommend you use at least an 8GB USB stick, this can be repartitioned after initial install.

Enjoy. Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2012-04-13 05:42 by wrxtasy.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 22,443
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 296
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #9
Mac install instructions at: Crystalbuntu

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Thanks wrxtasy

It is not the playback that is my biggest problem, but a lot of buffering.
Can Crystalbuntu handle this better?

I am using a WIFI to cable converter because i dont want to put cables all over the house.

Best regards
Morten
find quote
Krieg Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Probably your WiFi dongle is not 802.11n
find quote
larzendk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Nope, it's G
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 22,443
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 296
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #13
(2012-04-17 09:25)larzendk Wrote:  Nope, it's G

G doesn't cut the mustard for most HD videos (and even some SD videos).

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote