Linux - AudioEngine testers - Linux only

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #151
@gnif here you go

http://pastebin.com/cwW6Zm5v

Intel device is a VIA based Intel HDA onboard audio and the nVidia device is a GTX-440

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-11 20:17 by wingrunr21.)
find quote
luna_s Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #152
My issue seems to have cleared up now, flattened the PC and installed fresh xbmcbuntu then compiled fine, old install was getting a bit crusty Smile
got audio now
find quote
dc2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #153
ran latest master with NO flags. here is the log

http://pastebin.com/aw9E1ezZ
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,384
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 31
Post: #154
good news with my audigy2, just compiled xbmc master and now playback is fine but with one cpu @100% during music playback. No hdmi output from nvidia (295 drivers maybe is the issue).

But, sorry if could be completely a nonsense, it seems that it sounds less better than last time AE was working with the audigy2 (about two months ago or less). I don't know if it is just only an impression, I have to do more deeper tests with old builds to see if it's true that there are differences or just my mind that play tricks on me.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-11 21:54 by joethefox.)
find quote
DDDamian Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,028
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 254
Location: Canada
Post: #155
if the cpu is hitting 100% i'd expect serious audio issues - log showing and buffer underruns?

System: XBMC HTPC with HDMI WASAPI & AudioEngine - Denon AVR-3808CI - Denon DVD-5900 Universal Player - Denon DCM-27 CD-Changer
- Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray - X-Box 360 - Android tablet wireless remote - 7.1 Streem/Axiom/Velodyne Surround System
If I have been able to help feel free to add to my reputation +/- below - thanks!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-11 23:38 by DDDamian.)
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,555
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #156
@gnif: http://pastebin.com/kkajdUfj

That is from an Nvidia GT520 with driver version 295.40. Am I really the only with no problems running the latest drivers?
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 01:38 by negge.)
find quote
dc2000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #157
"no ELD data" seems to be a common theme with these hdmi cards huh?
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #158
(2012-05-12 01:38)negge Wrote:  @gnif: http://pastebin.com/kkajdUfj

That is from an Nvidia GT520 with driver version 295.40. Am I really the only with no problems running the latest drivers?

No I run 295.49.

(2012-05-12 02:09)dc2000 Wrote:  "no ELD data" seems to be a common theme with these hdmi cards huh?

I don't get that error. ALSA issue perhaps? What's your ALSA version?

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #159
@dc2000 - It seems your build isnt complete, there is no enumeration output at all in the log, please perform a "make clean" on your tree

No ELD just means that your AVR is not plugged into that HDMI output, as you are already aware most HDMI capable cards report all their HDMI outputs, even ones that dont exists physically on the card. All the logs pasted here are perfect, they show a HDMI device with the AVR connected:

@wingrunr21 - You have a SNY SONY AVAMP Plugged in
@negge - You have a MEI Panasonic-TV plugged in

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 05:25 by gnif.)
find quote
ScotchTape Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: northrhine-wesphalia
Post: #160
Hi,

I've recompiled from master yesterday and gave it a try. Apart from artefacts I had the problem that, after I've watched an episode Mythbusters, audio wasn't working anymore. I tried to watch an episode from American Guns and a movie.

The log could be found here: http://paste.ubuntu.com/982935/

It seems that alsa (1.0.24) kicked the bucket, since I also didn't had sound in VDR after closing XBMC.

After I've restarted VDR, audio was back to normal. syslog is here:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/983022/


I've also tried alsa 1.0.25 before, but forgot to save the log. AE found that my HTPC is connected to a DENON AVR-2312. (does anyone know an 'ubuntu-way' to ugrade alsa on natty to 1.0.25 which wouldn't break *sdl-dev?)


ubuntu Natty x86_64, no custom kernel, nvidia 295.40

HTPC: Antec Fusion MAX | AS B76M | Intel G1610 | Intel 40GB SSD, WDEAS 1TB HD | 4GB RAM | Nvidia GT630 | RC6 IR-Receiver | Imon display
Home AV: Panasonic TX-P42ST33 Plasma | Denon AVR-2312 | Teufel 5.1 THX- Speakers | Harmony One Remote & NYXBoard| Logitech DiNovo mini

[Image: widget]
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 09:51 by ScotchTape.)
find quote
gnif Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 442
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 34
Location: Australia, Katoomba
Post: #161
@ScotchTape - A fix for ALSA went in yesterday that may have resolved your problem.

PEOPLE: I am sick of saying this, do NOT post excerpts from logs, POST THE ENTIRE LOG, just because you think only part of it is relevant, doesn't mean your right, we have lots of log information for a reason.

Any more requests for help with partial logs will be deleted without warning.

I am not scared of SVN - Cutting my hands open on the bleeding edge.
find quote
ScotchTape Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: northrhine-wesphalia
Post: #162
@gnif - the snd_pcm_close ? I cloned after the commit.

I'll edit my post and include/attach the whole syslog.

HTPC: Antec Fusion MAX | AS B76M | Intel G1610 | Intel 40GB SSD, WDEAS 1TB HD | 4GB RAM | Nvidia GT630 | RC6 IR-Receiver | Imon display
Home AV: Panasonic TX-P42ST33 Plasma | Denon AVR-2312 | Teufel 5.1 THX- Speakers | Harmony One Remote & NYXBoard| Logitech DiNovo mini

[Image: widget]
find quote
joethefox Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,384
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 31
Post: #163
(2012-05-11 22:36)DDDamian Wrote:  if the cpu is hitting 100% i'd expect serious audio issues - log showing and buffer underruns?

This morning I explored the behavior: the problem arises when I select the audio device p16v.
If starting music playback with ADC Capture / Standard PCM Playback (hw:CARD=Audigy2,DEV=0) as device, everything works as expected.

The issue begins when switching to p16v device (hw:CARD=Audigy2,DEV=3), xbmc.log grows very fast, one of the four cpu core goes to 100% and there is no sound output.
When come back to ADC Capture / Standard PCM Playback as device, sound output comes back but cpu still goes to 100% while playback .

Here the full log (I've cutted the repeating lines "ERROR: CAESinkALSA::HandleError(snd_pcm_writei(1)) - snd_pcm_writei returned -22 (Invalid argument)" otherwise the log was 25MB) http://pastebin.com/Jq52fkAc
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-12 09:51 by joethefox.)
find quote
P-I H Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #164
I compiled the master yesterday.
OS: fresh installed Ubuntu 12.04 with some added libraries: libnfs-dev, libvdpau-dev, libva-dev, libbluray-dev,libavcodec-dev
Graphic card: Nvidia GT520
I haven't removed pulseaudio from the installation.

Played a lot of formats: Dolby 2.0, Dolby 5.1, DTS, DTS 96/24, PCM 48 kHz, PCM 96 kHz, flac and DTS HD High Resolution, Dolby True HD 48 kHz and Dolby True HD 96 kHz. All these played OK.
Also played DTS HD Master Audio, but in this case there were drop-outs. See the log.
http://pastebin.com/VV7mmVcy
find quote
wingrunr21 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #165
(2012-05-12 09:32)gnif Wrote:  PEOPLE: I am sick of saying this, do NOT post excerpts from logs, POST THE ENTIRE LOG, just because you think only part of it is relevant, doesn't mean your right, we have lots of log information for a reason.

This is already clear in the first post but I will make it bigger.

HTPC: Gentoo linux amd64 w/ xbmc merged with AE
find quote
Post Reply