Pico PSU suggestions.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #31
(2012-05-05 20:49)eskro Wrote:  weird that another member here had trouble with the A8-3850 and his 120W Power Brick.
Sometime, it is not the power brick. It could have a weak PSU......

Unlike other PSU, PiCo rated lower than its peak.......it's a brilliant idea....


(2012-05-06 22:00)jaochoo Wrote:  I will use this thread since it's related to the topic of PicoPSU:

I am currently planning my first HTPC build and came across the topic of PicoPSU. The concept sounds tempting because of less heat and noise in the case. Can I use a PicoPSU with any HTPC build? How can I determine whether I can use a PicoPSU and which one (I understand there are 120, 150, etc.)?
It's depending on your CPU....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 22:22 by bluray.)
find quote
Mick1152 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 7
Post: #32
Nevermind, didn't see blu's post

HTPC 1 - AMD A8-3870K, ASRock A75M, Silverstone ML03B, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Crucial M4 64GB SSD
HTPC 2 - AMD A6-3500, ASRock A75M-ITX, Kingston HyperX 4GB DDR3 1866, Patriot Torqx 2 32GB SSD
HTPC 3 - Intel Celeron 847, OpenELEC
RV HTPC - Intel i3-2120 Mini-ITX, 12TB Storage
3 Raspberry Pis
unRAID 5 Server - AMD Sempron 145, 4TB Parity, 16TB Storage

(This post was last modified: 2012-05-06 23:42 by Mick1152.)
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #33
I have yet to have any problems. Granted I have not watched much but I did stress it for about 60 minutes on Friday and found no errors not any power issues.
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #34
(2012-05-07 14:51)KraziJoe Wrote:  I have yet to have any problems. Granted I have not watched much but I did stress it for about 60 minutes on Friday and found no errors not any power issues.
If you really want to stress it, you can try to watch a blu-ray movie in full 1080P video and bitstreaming HD audio while transcoding blu-ray movie (using HandBrake) in the background......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #35
(2012-05-07 15:54)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-07 14:51)KraziJoe Wrote:  I have yet to have any problems. Granted I have not watched much but I did stress it for about 60 minutes on Friday and found no errors not any power issues.
If you really want to stress it, you can try to watch a blu-ray movie in full 1080P video and bitstreaming HD audio while transcoding blu-ray movie (using HandBrake) in the background......

But why would I do that? This is a viewing only machine. I have my work horse in the other room that does the rest...
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,315
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 145
Post: #36
(2012-05-07 16:08)KraziJoe Wrote:  
(2012-05-07 15:54)bluray Wrote:  
(2012-05-07 14:51)KraziJoe Wrote:  I have yet to have any problems. Granted I have not watched much but I did stress it for about 60 minutes on Friday and found no errors not any power issues.
If you really want to stress it, you can try to watch a blu-ray movie in full 1080P video and bitstreaming HD audio while transcoding blu-ray movie (using HandBrake) in the background......

But why would I do that? This is a viewing only machine. I have my work horse in the other room that does the rest...
Just in case you want to stress it, and your APU is capable of doing these tasks with ease......

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-07 16:32 by bluray.)
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #37
Some of the pics...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/krazijoe/se...625034816/

And the case is quiet...VERY quiet...
find quote
Beer40oz Offline
Donor
Posts: 2,227
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 54
Location: The Moon
Post: #38
Cool KraziJoe you basically made it into a 300-65.....

Why did not you buy a 300-65 from start?

Nice to know the Pico fits in there......

Nice job.....

Very quiet huh? what are your RPM's? I get 800-920 steady
find quote
KraziJoe Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 2
Post: #39
(2012-05-08 07:32)Beer40oz Wrote:  Cool KraziJoe you basically made it into a 300-65.....

Why did not you buy a 300-65 from start?

Nice to know the Pico fits in there......

Nice job.....

Very quiet huh? what are your RPM's? I get 800-920 steady

Because I built and then as I added more I figured it out...
find quote
eskro Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,489
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 198
Post: #40
(2012-05-06 22:00)jaochoo Wrote:  I will use this thread since it's related to the topic of PicoPSU:

I am currently planning my first HTPC build and came across the topic of PicoPSU. The concept sounds tempting because of less heat and noise in the case. Can I use a PicoPSU with any HTPC build? How can I determine whether I can use a PicoPSU and which one (I understand there are 120, 150, etc.)?



yes u can use a PicoPSU with any HTPC build.

u just need to buy the correct one.

example, check for power consumption reviews.

like we know that a quad-core A8-3870K APU can be handled by a 102W PSU.
(This post was last modified: 2012-05-09 03:00 by eskro.)
find quote
Post Reply