Hdmi audio for complete noob, please help.
Hi, my first post so hi to everybody.
Let me say this: I am a total NOOB as far as linux is concerned.
First , I really love XBMC and love the idea of having it as sort of only OS on my machine.
I've run xbmc on windows witout a problem so far, but I want to run it sort of as an only thing like self contained firmware.
XBMCbuntu fits the bill perfectly.
I really admire the job that You guys did.

But.

There is a one small problem, one that cost me allready a couple of days.
In this day and age HTPC without hdmi sound ?
I've tried it (latest xbmcbuntu) on 2 boxes so far.

1 asus M3N78-VM nvidia 8200 based.
2 asus P8H61-I intel h61.

Both install without a hitch, runs perfectly , but silently.
Try as I migh , there's no sound through hdmi , no matter what setting I use.

Both are connected to olevia 747 LCDs , and both run XBMC with sound no problem on Win7.
I've read a few threads regarding hdmi audio problems , but it was all chinese to me.
I dont know what "grub" is, nor I know how to edit anything under linux.

Is there anyone that managed to install XBMCbuntu succesfully on either of these motherboards AND get the sound through hdmi?
Could You help me?
I'm really going nutsSad

I'm no expert... had the same issue with ati/radeon. I can't find the guide I followed, but it is out there. This is what I remember.

You'll have to log into the OS GUI (openbox) to do all of this stuff.

I ended up creating an asound.conf file, in the /etc folder (root permissions):

/etc$ more asound.conf
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 0
device 3
}

To create it you can use the command 'sudo nano -w asound.conf' . But first you need some more config and info.

The card 0 , device 3 comes from the output of the command 'aplay -l' . It will look like this (you want the HDMI info):

card 0: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0