Ability to "resume playback" for playlist files (.m3u)?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 321
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I am using Eden version 11.0 and would appreciate some thoughts on how to handle this. When I playback individual video files, the "resume playback" feature works great where if I playback some of the video file and then come back later, XBMC will prompt me to either resume playback from where I left off or start from the beginning.

I have a bunch of video playlist files (.m3u) to pull in some of my SageTV recordings w/ metadata, etc, when I play a playlist file through my library, it plays back fine, but the resume playback feature does not work. Every time I playback subsequent times, it always starts playback from the beginning and never prompts to resume from a specific time point.

Any thoughts on this? If it doesn't exist today, is there a process I can follow to add this as an enhancement request? This is a new process to me so appreciate your thoughts and guidance.
find quote
LehighBri Offline
Fan
Posts: 321
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Bump. Any thoughts on this?
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 31,410
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 556
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #3
Moved thread to the "Feature request" subforum. Sounds cool to me :)

Full disclosure: I work for WeTek. However, this is my personal account, and my words and opinion are my own.

ned.wiki
find quote
pingomister Offline
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #4
Is there any plan to implement this? The ability to resume an audio (or video) playlist would be very helpful for some particular types of setup - a music dedicated media center, for example.
find quote
ultravio7et Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I have been unable to get my resume point to work.
I changed it in the advanced settings file but it still only resumes if it has been 3+ minutes even though it is set to 0 seconds as the minimum resume time.
There is a single userdata folder on my computer for XBMC and it is located at C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\userdata.
The content of the advanced settings file, named Advancedsettings.xml is:
<advancedsettings>
<videolibrary>
<video> <!-- "VideoSettings" instead of "video" for builds prior to May 22, 2006 -->
<subsdelayrange>10</subsdelayrange> <!-- Delay range for subtitles, in seconds. -->
<audiodelayrange>10</audiodelayrange> <!-- Delay range for audio/video sync, in seconds. -->
<smallstepbackseconds>7</smallstepbackseconds> <!-- Length of the small skip back (normally the BACK button) when playing a video -->
<usetimeseeking>true</usetimeseeking> <!-- Whether to use time based or percentage based seeking. -->
<timeseekforward>30</timeseekforward> <!-- Time to seek forward in seconds when doing a short seek. Defaults to 30. -->
<timeseekbackward>-30</timeseekbackward> <!-- Time to seek backward in seconds when doing a short seek. Defaults to -30. -->
<timeseekforwardbig>600</timeseekforwardbig> <!-- Time to seek forward in seconds when doing a long seek. Defaults to 600 (10 minutes). -->
<timeseekbackwardbig>-600</timeseekbackwardbig> <!-- Time to seek forward in seconds when doing a long seek. Defaults to -600 (10 minutes). -->
<percentseekforward>2</percentseekforward> <!-- Amount to seek forward as a percentage, when doing a short seek. Defaults to 2. -->
<percentseekbackward>-2</percentseekbackward> <!-- Amount to seek backward as a percentage, when doing a short seek. Defaults to -2. -->
<percentseekforwardbig>10</percentseekforwardbig> <!-- Amount to seek forward as a percentage, when doing a long seek. Defaults to 10. -->
<percentseekbackwardbig>-10</percentseekbackwardbig> <!-- Amount to seek forward as a percentage, when doing a long seek. Defaults to -10. -->
<blackbarcolour>1</blackbarcolour> <!-- colour of the black bars (0->255), (black->white) on videos. -->
<fullscreenonmoviestart>true</fullscreenonmoviestart> <!-- Whether to go to fullscreen or not when starting a movie. Defaults to true. -->
<defaultplayer>dvdplayer</defaultplayer> <!-- Set the default video player: dvdplayer or extplayer. -->
<excludefromscan> <!-- Regular expressions that if evaluated to true won't be added to library. -->
<regexp>[-\._ ](sample|trailer)[-\._ ]</regexp>
</excludefromscan>
<excludefromlisting> <!-- Regular expressions that if evaluated to true won't be displayed in Files View -->
<regexp>[-\._ ](sample|trailer)[-\._ ]</regexp>
</excludefromlisting>
<playcountminimumpercent>100</playcountminimumpercent> <!--Minimum percentage that has to be played before it is marked as watched. Set to 101 to never auto-mark items as watched -->
<ignoresecondsatstart>0</ignoresecondsatstart> <!-- Number of seconds to ignore at video start after which a resume point is created -->
<ignorepercentatend>0</ignorepercentatend>
<!-- percentage of video to ignore at the end. If you stop watching the video here no resume point is created. The video is already marked as watched at 90%, see above -->

</video> <!-- use "VideoSettings" instead of "video" for builds prior to May 22, 2006 -->
</advancedsettings>



Please tell me why this doesn't work and how I can fix it.
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Retired Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 31,410
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 556
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #6
(2013-07-03 04:14)ultravio7et Wrote:  I have been unable to get my resume point to work.
I changed it in the advanced settings file but it still only resumes if it has been 3+ minutes even though it is set to 0 seconds as the minimum resume time.
There is a single userdata folder on my computer for XBMC and it is located at C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC\userdata.
The content of the advanced settings file, named Advancedsettings.xml is:

*snip*

Please tell me why this doesn't work and how I can fix it.

It doesn't sound like you are in the correct thread... If you are trying to resume playback on a playlist file, it won't work (which is what this thread is about). If you are trying to resume playback on just any given video file, please start a new thread in the general help forum.

Full disclosure: I work for WeTek. However, this is my personal account, and my words and opinion are my own.

ned.wiki
find quote
jawadshaik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
+1,000,000,000 to be able to resume playlists so that the video in the playlist starts from the last point within the video where it stopped.

Currently if I am in the middle of video #3 in the playlist and quit at this point, then play the playlist again, it starts from the beginning of video #3 instead of starting from where I left off within video #3.

Kodi must also constantly (every 5 seconds or so?) keep track of the current video position - so that when it shuts off for whatever reason, the last position is known and can be started from there.

I just set this up so I can run kodi in my car and this feature would help tremendously.
find quote
Lunatixz Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 4,644
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: New York
Post: #8
(2015-08-27 22:35)jawadshaik Wrote:  +1,000,000,000 to be able to resume playlists so that the video in the playlist starts from the last point within the video where it stopped.

Currently if I am in the middle of video #3 in the playlist and quit at this point, then play the playlist again, it starts from the beginning of video #3 instead of starting from where I left off within video #3.

Kodi must also constantly (every 5 seconds or so?) keep track of the current video position - so that when it shuts off for whatever reason, the last position is known and can be started from there.

I just set this up so I can run kodi in my car and this feature would help tremendously.

-1,000,000,000 make this an optional setting

PseudoTV Live - Forum|Website
[Image: thin.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2015-08-27 22:39 by Lunatixz.)
find quote
jawadshaik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2015-08-27 22:38)Lunatixz Wrote:  
(2015-08-27 22:35)jawadshaik Wrote:  +1,000,000,000 to be able to resume playlists so that the video in the playlist starts from the last point within the video where it stopped.

Currently if I am in the middle of video #3 in the playlist and quit at this point, then play the playlist again, it starts from the beginning of video #3 instead of starting from where I left off within video #3.

Kodi must also constantly (every 5 seconds or so?) keep track of the current video position - so that when it shuts off for whatever reason, the last position is known and can be started from there.

I just set this up so I can run kodi in my car and this feature would help tremendously.

-1,000,000,000 make this an optional setting

Certainly agree that this should be an optional setting, but -1,000,000,000??! Big Grin
find quote
Lunatixz Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 4,644
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: New York
Post: #10
(2015-08-27 22:41)jawadshaik Wrote:  
(2015-08-27 22:38)Lunatixz Wrote:  
(2015-08-27 22:35)jawadshaik Wrote:  +1,000,000,000 to be able to resume playlists so that the video in the playlist starts from the last point within the video where it stopped.

Currently if I am in the middle of video #3 in the playlist and quit at this point, then play the playlist again, it starts from the beginning of video #3 instead of starting from where I left off within video #3.

Kodi must also constantly (every 5 seconds or so?) keep track of the current video position - so that when it shuts off for whatever reason, the last position is known and can be started from there.

I just set this up so I can run kodi in my car and this feature would help tremendously.

-1,000,000,000 make this an optional setting

Certainly agree that this should be an optional setting, but -1,000,000,000??! Big Grin

lol okay

+1,000,000,000
- 999,999,999

better Wink

PseudoTV Live - Forum|Website
[Image: thin.jpg]
find quote
GriffeyJuni0r Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #11
I'm looking for exactly this - An option that would resume the playlist at the exact point it was left at. Would be perfect for creating your own TV channels out of playlist files!
find quote
Lunatixz Offline
Skilled Python Coder
Posts: 4,644
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: New York
Post: #12
(2015-10-26 22:21)GriffeyJuni0r Wrote:  I'm looking for exactly this - An option that would resume the playlist at the exact point it was left at. Would be perfect for creating your own TV channels out of playlist files!

Pretty much what PseudoTV Live does...

This would have to be an optional feature, since it would interfere with standard m3u playback.

PseudoTV Live - Forum|Website
[Image: thin.jpg]
find quote
GriffeyJuni0r Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 3
Post: #13
I do love PseudoTV, but there are a lot of things it doesn't do as well as other addons (I prefer the TV Guide addon for it's background playing capabilities, easy ability to add/modify channels from Favorites, ect.)

Agreed that making it optional is certainly the right way to go - options like this are what makes Kodi the amazing media center it is
find quote