ios 5.1.1 update pros and cons

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
papampi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'm still on 4.x ios and I was thinking of to update or not to update ....

can you guys give us the pros and cons of ios 5.1.1 ?
should we update ?
what do we get from 5.1.1 ?

Proud xbmp/xbmc user since early days of 1st gen xbox

XBMC on :
Tronsmart S89 Quad Core - AMLinux
Atv1 + Crystall HD - Crystalbuntu
Raspberry Pi - Openelec
Xios DS - Linux the-hydra
1st gen xbox, JB Atv2, Ouya, ...
find quote
pr0nin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
You would loose ability to autostart XBMC, but you get some new iOS features. I bet you can find list of new features all around the internet. Accually I just updated one of my ATV2's by mistake I'm not happy with it 'cos ability to autostart XBMC was a killing feature for me.
find quote
onizuka Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
ios 5 sucks more resources. If all you use it for is XBMC i highly recommend to never upgrade.
find quote
papampi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2012-06-03 00:09)onizuka Wrote:  ios 5 sucks more resources. If all you use it for is XBMC i highly recommend to never upgrade.
100% agreed with you but its too late !!!
I update to 5 last night Sad

Proud xbmp/xbmc user since early days of 1st gen xbox

XBMC on :
Tronsmart S89 Quad Core - AMLinux
Atv1 + Crystall HD - Crystalbuntu
Raspberry Pi - Openelec
Xios DS - Linux the-hydra
1st gen xbox, JB Atv2, Ouya, ...
find quote
gumba Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Well, Just upgraded from 4.1 to 5.1.1 and Eden Take 3...

And its a god send Smile

performance is much better than I was used to, and I *really* needed access to all the new ATV features, and XBMC too.

Now, if an ATV3 untethered JB could only be made... then I would pick up an ATV3 in a heart beat!
find quote
chibwack Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Alberta
Post: #6
Is the better performance a common thing? I have no reason to upgrade to ios 5, but if it makes xbmc work smoother, then I'm all in...
find quote
donut4000 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2012-06-07 19:18)chibwack Wrote:  Is the better performance a common thing? I have no reason to upgrade to ios 5, but if it makes xbmc work smoother, then I'm all in...
For my installation, upgrading to IOS 5.0.2 (via Seasonpass) was seamless, and everything is as it was before. I have the official Eden 11.0, with Icefilms, FastpassTV, iPlayer, TVCatchup, 1Channel, NaviX plus local movies and TV shows. I no longer get the guaranteed crash when selecting a film/show from a sleeping network drive, and finally, Airplay runs like Honey Badger, and don't give a sh*t - it just works what ever is playing, wherever - even after a crash, it is the first thing to get going again - about 3-5 seconds...
As for XBMC performance - certainly no worse than before. Video playback does appear better - more fluid in my mind - and looking at codec info, the CPU appears to be toiling less and with fewer render errors with MPEG-4s and other nasties. I still get crashes from time to time - but these I reckon are wee rough edges inherent with XBMC at the mo (not to mention the rather finite extent of the AVT2..)
(This post was last modified: 2012-06-09 08:10 by donut4000.)
find quote
fritzboyle Offline
Donor
Posts: 44
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Oakland CA
Post: #8
I also upgraded to 5.1.1 and was thinking it was taking up more memory. I cleared the movie folders as per other instructions on this site
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...e.2Fmemory

But they seem to fill up quicker than before (4.4)

I am wondering if it also has to do with me adding a few more plug ins than I had before. I restored my user settings from previous installations, but I no longer use some of the plug ins (I'm looking at you, Icefilms) Maybe there is still data and settings left over from those plug ins even if I have uninstalled them via the XBMC settings?

Either way, I think there are some things that run alot smoother on iOS 5 w/ XBMC (loading files, starting streams, buffering)

One thing I don't like is that I have to select XBMC from the main menu (icon) then I have to select it AGAIN like in a drop down.....What is that all about? 2 clicks to do one thing? Am I missing something?

Peace,
Fritz Boyle

ATV2 iOS 5.2 XBMC 13.0
USB SmartStick android 4.1.1 XBMC 12.3
OUYA XBMC 12.3
MBP OSX Mavericks XBMC 12.3
find quote
BoomSchtick Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
I have my SHSH blobs for both my ATV 2's. I might just give it a try because I can always go back.

Thoughts?
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,859
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 117
Location: germany
Post: #10
(2012-06-11 23:56)fritzboyle Wrote:  One thing I don't like is that I have to select XBMC from the main menu (icon) then I have to select it AGAIN like in a drop down.....What is that all about? 2 clicks to do one thing? Am I missing something?

I have answered that one multiple times now - please search the forum. In a nutshell - no we can't change that - and if you look closer its the same on all other atv2 apps too (no look again - its the same - NO REALLY look again - its the same for all!).

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
jpcolin Offline
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2012-06-12 11:31)Memphiz Wrote:  
(2012-06-11 23:56)fritzboyle Wrote:  One thing I don't like is that I have to select XBMC from the main menu (icon) then I have to select it AGAIN like in a drop down.....What is that all about? 2 clicks to do one thing? Am I missing something?

I have answered that one multiple times now - please search the forum. In a nutshell - no we can't change that - and if you look closer its the same on all other atv2 apps too (no look again - its the same - NO REALLY look again - its the same for all!).

I can remember a threat where you said that it was impossible to boot with xbmc, some weekslater i was possible ;-)
just to say never say never ;-)
find quote
HairyJohn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2012-06-12 11:31)Memphiz Wrote:  
(2012-06-11 23:56)fritzboyle Wrote:  One thing I don't like is that I have to select XBMC from the main menu (icon) then I have to select it AGAIN like in a drop down.....What is that all about? 2 clicks to do one thing? Am I missing something?

I have answered that one multiple times now - please search the forum. In a nutshell - no we can't change that - and if you look closer its the same on all other atv2 apps too (no look again - its the same - NO REALLY look again - its the same for all!).

Netflix doesn't do that, select Netflix and it goes straight in.
Unless you are including the internal menu inside Netflix?
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 22,494
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 297
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #13
(2012-06-12 15:37)HairyJohn Wrote:  
(2012-06-12 11:31)Memphiz Wrote:  
(2012-06-11 23:56)fritzboyle Wrote:  One thing I don't like is that I have to select XBMC from the main menu (icon) then I have to select it AGAIN like in a drop down.....What is that all about? 2 clicks to do one thing? Am I missing something?

I have answered that one multiple times now - please search the forum. In a nutshell - no we can't change that - and if you look closer its the same on all other atv2 apps too (no look again - its the same - NO REALLY look again - its the same for all!).

Netflix doesn't do that, select Netflix and it goes straight in.
Unless you are including the internal menu inside Netflix?

I swear, I will ban the next person who bitches about this. If it's so easy to fix then show us.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
HairyJohn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Pardon? I wasn't bitching and never said I could fix it.
Memphiz said that all other atv2 apps do the same, I said Netflix doesn't unless he/she is referring to the internal Netflix selection menu.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 11,859
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 117
Location: germany
Post: #15
Yes i do. There is no app without a submenu. And there was never an app without submenu on iOS 4.3 either.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: Wiki NFS
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Wiki Avahi
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ
find quote
Post Reply