New to XBMC, looking for guidance
Hello,

I'm somewhat new to the world of XBMC, the amount of information and options are pretty overwhelming. ATV, HTPCs, these are things I didn't know existed until last week. I'm just looking for a push in the right direction. Right now I'm looking to see what direction I would need to go in hardware-wise for what I want to accomplish with XBMC. I'm going to be moving into my first house in a few weeks so I'm pretty much starting from scratch and I'm open to all suggestions.

Basically what I want to do is run XBMC on my TV in my living room, and keep my computer in my bedroom, and access all my media without running a wire between the 2 and be able to control it with my iPhone. I'd like to keep the least amount of 'clutter' in the living room, my PC is always running. I'm more concerned with using it for movies & music that I will have stored, not so much for streaming off the internet, though that would be a plus. Mostly standard DVDs, I'm not too concerned with HD or BluRay at the moment, but I want the upgrade potential.

What I currently have is a PC with a wireless router...that's about it...I'm in the market for a new TV so I would like to know if a Smart TV with built in Wi-fi would be useful in cutting out any hardware I may need, or if it makes more sense to go with a cheaper basic TV and use additional hardware.

Very open to suggestions how how to do this...feel free to use small words and explain it like I'm a 4 year old
I would suggest an ATV1 box with upgraded broadcom CrystalHD card hooked up to Non Smart TV.
I would also suggest some form of hard wired connection even if it is a powerline solution I have had much better experience with powerline over wifi.
I hear if you run crystalbuntu with hardwired you can do most 1080p as well so you could eventually watch blue ray rips.
most internet streams are pretty low bandwidth intensive so they should all work like hulu, freecable, podcats...