Recommend a Linux distort for Home server
I have been having issues with smb so I switched to Nfs and after a lot of trouble i worked out to use. Nfs I need to purchase some software as things are a bit tight cash wise at the moment I was thinking of switching my server from WHS 2011 to a Linux distro but I am a complete noob at linux so looking for something easy and reliable I will need the following though

NFS for my Openelec boxes and also be able to. Connect and share content to and from my windows 7 pc

Remote access from my windows pc (will be running headless)

Also if there is a way to use my existing hard drives without having to format them would be good

I have heard fedora , Linux mint and Ubuntu are good not sure though
ubuntu server & ssh.
DNLA
oye, formatto es hardrivo por favor
ps. they is also nice for a NAS server
try the live-usb for each one you named in your original thread then install the one you like to the hard drive (or just run live).

personnally i like fedora the best but only because i was a red hat administrator in my old job.

on second thought if you are using xbmcbuntu then you can just use/ install that. (xbmcbuntu is technically a linux distro and you can easily apt-get install new software).
http://www.freenas.org/

Never used it myself, but I have a lot of friends that swear by it, even in commercial environments.
Mythbuntu. Based on Ubuntu and is very lite but feature rich.
XBMCbuntu, Home Server, Network Setup Example
Freenas is easy to set up and great for hosting files. If you want easy management and stability I'd go for that. You won't need a lot of hardware capacity either.
If you'd like to run stuff like Sabnzbd and Sickbeard on your server you might want to use ubuntu server or desktop instead because there's no distro that makes it easier to install, configure and maintain the latest versions of any linux compatible software available. Partly because there is so much information available everywhere on the internet.