Entry level XBMCbuntu device
Hi there,

I want to build an htpc for my parents. It's only for movies (most of them not 1080p, but some might be). Nothing fancy like 3D or gaming hardware is needed. It should be quiet, current-saving and have remote support (almost) out of the box. I have some linux experience, but I would rather have a device where I don't have to read gazillion manuals on how to wreck my kernel :p

The setups in the sticky topic looked quite good, but they seem somewhat out of date and almost none of the mentioned casings can be purchased in germany.
That's why I'm only looking for a mainboard and CPU (and a GPU if needed) that meet the given requirements.

Any ideas?
What do you mean when you say "have battery support (almost) out of the box"?
(2012-07-30, 14:00)GortWillSaveUs Wrote: What do you mean when you say "have battery support (almost) out of the box"?

I don't know why I wrote battey. I, actually meant to say "remote support". Thanks!
Ahhh,...that makes sense. Hahaha

Are you looking for the remote to power on and power off the device.
I use Windows 7,..and this keyboard and remote combo:
IOGEAR Multimedia Keyboard with Laser Trackball and Scroll Wheel, 2.4GHz Wireless GKM561R (Black)
Windows 7 Vista XP Media Center MCE PC Remote Control and Infrared Receiver for Home, Premium and Ultimate Edition

My wife and I use the keyboard,...while my son uses the remote exclusively.
I have the power off buttons configured to put my system into Sleep mode,...then anytime a button is pressed on the keyboard or remote,..the system is instantly on.

I will also be purchasing this remote:
CE Compass Mini Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad Mouse PC Remote Control