Linux Alternatives to XBMCbuntu
Thumbs Up 
I've been using XBMCbuntu for the last 6 months and fine it reasonable, its slow to boot and seem overkill for my needs. Don't really need all the extra crap like Chromium and flash etc. My HTPC is an HTPC and that is all.

Unfortunately OpenELEC doesn't offer enough customization for my needs, to make my tuner cards work I need access to the root file system which OpenELEC doesn't allow.

Are there any alternatives out there that are like the old XBMC Live, without the underlying desktop and crap? I've had a look and can't find anything Sad
You could always uninstall the "extra crap" from XBMCbuntu via Synaptic if it's closer to your needs than OpenELEC. Or you could roll your own Linux to suit your specific needs and then install XBMC as an application.
I agree with you PANiCnz, it operates just like mythbuntu with the wm, logins, etc. Worse if it crashes or your exit out, unlike live which would auto start. I had some issues trying to remove the wm's and greeter, etc. so I went to basic 12.04 minimal install and compiled the latest version of xbmc with the libcmyth addon to use with mythtv-backend.

Problem is what use to be a 2 to 2.2 GB of total storage with XBMC live including browser, flash and all the additional extras I use to now approaching 5 GB (Windows anyone). If you wanted XBMCbuntu at one time you could follow a wiki to roll your own stb and that was great for a few years. It would be nice with XBMCbuntu to have an expert install during installation where you could select different components that you want, rather than all the additional stuff that is added that takes away from the stb feel. Nothing like needing a keyboard to login to either ubuntu or xbmc after a crash or exiting. Live was much better with than the current implementation. Do we really need lightdm, greeter, unity, etc.?