Streaming to other devices question
Ok so im a total noob on this, i hope someone can really help me, i have been reading all day about this but cant find an exact answer or guide......

So heres my problem:

I have +6TB of media on the internal HDDs of my room PC, more than 100 HD movies, anime, etc etc... So i want to share all of my media with my brother, who recently bought a powerful laptop....

my pc and his laptop are connected to the internet via a wireless router that is on the 2 floor of my house (we both have our rooms on the 1 floor)...... the router is a little old and does not even support wireless N, only ABG.....

I have a ps3 and xbox on my room also, so i tried to use the XBMC UPnP server to test and share my media with these 2 devices, both found XBMC right away, but the ps3 was not even able to play any single video file, i could only saw empty folders, it didnt found any video file... and i had to wait like 1 minute before it could play a single mp3.....

The xbox 360 was able to see all video files, and play some (compatible ones), but they took A LOT to begin, also i couldnt fast foward or anything like that and sometimes it even needed to "load" again in the middle of a video, and all of this, with a simple SD video......

So as you can see this is not an option.... is there anything i can do considering my conditionsHuh is it possible to stream even HD videos instantaneously?? as if it were local??

I have read a lot and everyone says going wired is much more better, but how can i do this? the router is in another floor........ and my computer and my brothers laptop are on different rooms..... how do people normally set up this?? i dont understand... running wires all over the houseHuh i think that is not an option......