Best Linux PVR backend?
I have been using MythTV for several years. Recently, again, i got tired of the ugly looking frontend and wanted something better. I knew about XBMC and started to search if it was possible to connect XBMC to a myth backend so i could watch recordings. This is what i primarily use my HTPC for, watching/recording TV.

And now a new world opened up. XBMC with PVR support, and a MythTV plugin under development. I got excited. Finally something new and fun i could spend hours on to tweak.
But now i also found out that there are a few other possibilities besides MythTV as a backend, like Tvheadend.

So my question is: What is the best backend i could use with XBMC in Linux? Keep in mind that i have got used to the features the MythTV backend offers, and i don't really want anything less than that. But is there any backend software that is better? Or is there any backend that is under heavy development with the ambition to be like the Myth backend or better? And what backend has the best integration in XBMC, so far? And is there any project that shows more activity than others?

I really don't mind waiting a while, and maybe i can help in finding bugs. But what is the "right" solution now and in the future? Who has the most potential?
I apologize for not searching enough. This topic seems to be discussed on several places. But anyway, if you have any new information feel free to post it. Haven't read through everything yet so i don't know if all my questions will be answered.
I used MythTV for years, and never had any issues with the recording scheduling functionality. I think it is fair to say that TVHeadend has less options in that area. Up until recently, there wasnt much development on TVHeadend, but now there is new life in the project, so i would expect some new releases, with new functions over time (check out the activity on the bugs/issues list, there's plenty going on now).