Need help upgrading my server's storage...
I have been using XBMC for about a year and a half now and I've gone from total noob to having what I consider a pretty sweet home setup. I run my main PC from the den, which also has my 2TB HDD, as the server (I also run XBMC on it). I then have 2 remote boxes that run in my bedroom and living room. I never thought my 2TB would fill up, but as I got into backing up my DVDs and BluRays I found that space can go pretty quickly, especially if you are all about special features and such, like I am.

So I decided I need to upgrade my storage space. This is something I know nothing about. I'm pretty sure I don't want to buy another 2TB and just plug it in. I want this data protected. So my question is : what is the best way to double my space, keeping my data protected, and allowing for easy expansion if I need to add more space later?

My friend told me RAID array would require me to buy 3 more 2TB drives just to mirror (?) all of the data for a 4TB setup. That seems like a lot, especially since he said that every 2TB after would require another two 2TB drives. Also, will I need an extra drive to temporarily hold my data while I create the array if I can only afford to buy one 2TB drive in order to turn my storage into a 2TB array? In other words to buy one for now, just to protect my data so that I can upgrade later.

Sorry so long winded. I don't know anything about this really and money is tight so I just want good advice,
Yes I know there is no "best" answer, but I am lost and in need of help.
Hi... I think unRAID is your answer.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=104489

There are many builds if you search around. It can be made on the cheap.
I looked at unRaid. Seems pretty cool. I guess at this point I am sort of going between this and flexRAID. Either way, it seems a whole lot better than buying twice the space that you actually need. I cringe thinking about all that wasted storage space.