Help me make a home server, please?
Hello,

So I am now completely obsessed with XBMC and all of the supplementary tools that go with it. At this point I've filled up around 6 TBs of hd and now am getting a little more concerned with backing up my media and housing it in something better than external cases. I have been looking into building a home server for a little while now, but I am coming up short once it comes to the actual building of a server as I have very little experience actually building computers.

The things I know:
I want lots of space for hard disks, and I have no limitations on how large the case can be.
I will most likely use WHS and Flexraid for backup
I would like to build something with the ability to hold (at a later date) around 20TB of data.
I would like to do it on the cheap

Things I don't know:
The parts I need to accomplish this task.

I am partial to this case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6811182566
but as far as hardware is concerned I have no idea what I am getting into. If anyone could offer some advice it would be greatly appreciated!
Hi !

I have a WHS 2011 setup in my house.
I've built it with 3 Hard Drives, One of 500 GB for the system install, and temporary place for the downloads, and 2 of 2 TB in a RAID setup to store my media (TV Shows, Movies, Pictures and Music).

The Hardware that I'm using is very simple. I've bought an Athlon 2 X2 processor, with an Asus Motheboard.
The system has a total of 4 GB of RAM.

It runs smooth, stream All my media and provide access to the Sickbeard, Couchpotato and Sabnzdb+.

As you're only interested in backup features, using a basic Athlon processor can do the business for you.
The Hardware must go to the limit!

(2012-09-14, 22:18)Cuddly Cannibal Wrote: I will most likely use WHS and Flexraid for backup