Linux Setting resolution in XBMCBuntu
Another Linux nooB here, but hopefully not with a stupid question...

I am working with a Dell USFF Optiplex 760. FYI it is a core2 duo, 945GM chipset, GMA 4500 graphics. I am having troubles with setting up XBMCBuntu 11 just downloaded today.

I was not seeing an option for 1920x1080 when I attached it to my TV, but I did get 1920x1080 when I attached to my monitor. Ergo the system has no problem with 1920x1080 resolution, it just wasn't seeing it as a supported mode in XBMCBuntu. I hooked another computer up to the TV and ran XBMCBuntu on it, then issued $xrandr --verbose to get a detailed working mode line. Hooked back up the system of interest, issue the $xrandr --newmode and $xrandr --output lines and bam I have 1920x1080 on my new TV. Now here is my problem...

The change I made is only good for a one-time fix. I need to make changes to the configuration files so I can always see this mode and hopefully force them as default, but I have no idea of where to make the changes. Every thread and blog I found suggests one place or another, but I do not have the supposed configuration files at the directories everyone suggests. Perhaps it is because the baseline is now lubuntu, perhaps because I am not using nvidia or ati, or perhaps I have to create the file.

After like two hours of opening every file that looks like it might hold configuration data I am at my wits end. Please help!
you can put the modelines in xorg.conf
For those who are interested...

I was able to get an xorg.conf file by
1. Getting a terminal with ctrl alt f1
2. stopping the GUI with $ sudo service lightdm stop (which itself was a pain since I didn't know it was lightdm instead of gde)
3. Get a basic xorg.conf in your home directory with $ sudo Xorg -configure
4. Restart the GUI with $ sudo service lightdm start
Note that I tried booting to a root terminal to get the xorg.conf file and kept getting an error message