Where's the Debugging HOW-TO?
I am new to XBMC, but certainly not to software development or to UNIX. (I've been doing both for over 30 years.)

I've taken a stab at trying to run XBMCbuntu (and make it do something useful) on my trusty old MSI laptop (w/HDMI) and so far, I'm sorry to say, most of the stuff I have tried to make it do is failing rather badly... all for reasons I'm not at all clear on. The good news is that XBMCbuntu does boot and comes up all the way, but the fun ends right about there.

As a software engineer myself, I would like to lend a hand and see if I can contribute fixes for the various problems I've already encountered, but even the minimal guidance that it would take to get rolling on this seems to be hard to come by. So I'm asking here.

I'm not going to use this post to talk about ALL of the several problems that I've already encountered while trying to run XBMCbuntu (even though I will describe the most show-stopper problems in a P.S. attached below). I'll save the other nits that I've found and describe those on another day, and probably in a different forum. For today, I just want to talk about one very serious show-stopper, and then get some guidance on how to debug this.

In a nutshell, I managed to get XBMCbuntu installed successfully on an 8GD USB flash drive and I managed to get my laptop to boot that and bring up XBMCbuntu. So far so good. (At boot time, I already had an external USB DVD/CD drive also attached to the laptop, in addition to the USB flash drive I was booting from.)