Linux Black screen on install of Eden when connected to TV
My first installation of XBMC.
Specs AMD X2 240, ATI Radeon HD 4650.

Used Lili to put XBMCbuntu 11.0 on a USB.
Connected PC to <PC In> of 42" Panasonic(TH-L42S10) via VGA cable.
Plug in the USB and boot.
BIOS displays successfully on TV.
XBMC installation boot splash displays...
... then black screen.

At this point, I turn off the power and connect my PC to a CRT monitor via VGA cable.
I boot via USB, boot splash displays, and I can view the installation screen on the CRT.
I proceed with the installation on the CRT successfully,
XBMC works!

Now I connect my PC back to the TV and try booting into XBMC...
... same as before, I get a black screen after the boot splash.
If I switch to the CRT at this point, I see the welcome screen.
Then when I switch back to the TV, XBMC displays on the TV! but only at 1024x768 resolution =(

Any advice? I'm really quite new to all this, thanks =)
Try adding nomodeset to kernel parameters.
a quick google search tells me the TV has HDMI, so you really should use it. VGA won't give you FullHD and has other serious drawbacks.
(2012-11-26, 10:20)FernetMenta Wrote: Try adding nomodeset to kernel parameters.

With this option I see a low resolution boot splash... but after that I'm still booting into a black screen.

(2012-11-26, 10:31)wsnipex Wrote: a quick google search tells me the TV has HDMI, so you really should use it. VGA won't give you FullHD and has other serious drawbacks.

My video card only has VGA and DVI, if I connect a VGA/DVI to HDMI adapter to <HDMI In>, doesn't that mean video only?
I have a separate cable from the green connector to <Audio In>, but I don't think my TV can display video from one channel and audio from another.
(2012-11-26, 14:09)oinkl Wrote: My video card only has VGA and DVI, if I connect a VGA/DVI to HDMI adapter to <HDMI In>, doesn't that mean video only?