Lost Newbie has a bunch of questions
Lost Newbie has a bunch of questions

I downloaded XBMC a couple of weeks ago and have been playing around with it. The plan is once I get comfortable with it and get it set up how I want it on my pc, I want to then build a dedicated htpc to hook up to my tv and receiver. Unfortunately I think I would have to use Windows for the dedicated htpc. I would like to use the Linux (Ubuntu ?) since it wouldn't cost anything for the os, but I have no experience using Ubuntu or even Linux. So I think that would be biting of more then I can chew seeing how I'm having problems with just XBMC.

I do have a few questions (ok a bunch, but I'll try to not over do it on this 1st post). I have searched for the answers and either haven't found an answer or found one that I understand. I am not overly computer savvy, but if I have detailed instructions, usually I will do alright.

1. For my music files I already have started to rip my cds, I've been ripping them to FLAC then converting the FLACs to MP3s so I have a FLAC copy and an MP3 copy of each album. How I organize the folders is that I make a folder for each artist, then a folder for each album of that artist, then I make a separate folder for the FLACs, MP3s & album art.
Example:

James\Laid\FLAC
James\Laid\MP3
James\Laid\Album Art

Problem with this is that when I import my music to XBMC I get 2 copies of every album & song. Is there a way that I could only import FLACs and not have XBMC import any MP3s