New to XBMC python scripting
Hi,

I'm new to XBMC (but have a good background with python), and I'm a little bit confused with some XBMC terminology...

Could someone explain me what are the differences between an add-on, a plugin or a simple script, in XBMC?

I started to read the different wiki pages, but they don't all seem to be up-to-date, and it is sometime hard to know if they apply to current stable release, old release or next dev. release...

Thanks for your help,
Frédéric
- All installable extensions are called add-ons. (plugin, script, skin, scraper, service)
- plugin is a kind of add-on which provides virtual folders (filled with listitems). YouTube is a plugin for example.
- script is a "script" *g*. It can have a seperate GUI, it can run Modal. Examples are WhatTheMovie or XBMC Log Uploader.
- Services are scripts which are running in the background and started automatically. Examples are XBMC Library Auto Updater or SimpleDownloader

plugins, scripts and services can be written in python.

If you plan to create an add-on of type "Plugin" I would suggest using http://www.xbmcswift.com/en/latest/ which is a great "pythonic" framework.

regards,
sphere
My GitHub. My Add-ons:
Ok, I see!

I had a look at xbmcswift, and it seems to be very nice. But I think it is better to first write something from scratch, insetad of using a higher level tool which will hide a lot of things. Am I right?

At first, I would like to help geeXboX developers to improve their 'geexbox.updater' add-on:

http://hg.openbricks.org/xbmc-addon-geexbox-updater

which is a script (isn't it?).

Last question: are there somewhere templates for plugins/scripts/..., which I can use to start with a good structure? Or, according to you, what are the existing add-ons I should look at for inspiration?
Frédéric