First HTPC Build - Going Big in a Small Package
I'm brand new to XBMC, but having set it up on my desktop and playing around, I have to tip my hat to all the developers. Nice work!
I got inspired to build an HTPC after having horrible streaming performance over the Xbox 360 from movies stored on my wife's desktop PC. (The problem is the PC, my gigabit network is pretty fast.)
I also want to be able to play a wider format of files, video chat over the big screen, browse the web from the couch, some light gaming, better slideshows, more customization, Hulu etc. I also tire of my family seeing movie titles on the Xbox but not having an easy, immediate way to see what the movie is about. We're also looking at moving the Xbox to another room.

I will be connecting via HDMI to a Sony 5.1 AV Receiver, connected to a 55" Vizio 1080p 120Hz LED. The electronic shelves in the TV Stand are not well ventilated, and aesthetically I can't put even a mini-tower PC in the room. However there are two open shelves on either side of the TV stand which are open on three sides (the Xbox is on one, as it was getting too hot in the inside shelves. The spaces are 12" wide by 6.5" high and 22" deep, so I figured a mini-ITX system might fit in there just right.

So here's what I'm thinking, trying to keep the price under $500:

Motherboard: ASRock FM2A75M-ITX - http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A75M-ITX/index.us.asp ($95)

CPU: AMD A8-5500 Trinity 3.2GHz (3.7GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 65W Quad-Core Desktop APU (CPU + GPU) with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 7560DITX ($105)

Case: Either the Apex MI-008 (with 250W PSU) or the ThermalTake Element Q (with 220W PSU) ($50-$60)

RAM: Kingston Hyper X Red 8GB DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL10 Desktop Memory Module, maybe double that. ($40-$80)

HDD: WD Caviar Green 2TB 3.5" internal ($90)

Optical: LG Internal SATA DVD Writer (I have a Sony BD Player already hooked up) ($16)

120mm case fan (if needed) ($5-$10)