Windows - HOW TO - Solve audio problems + video stutter (audio induced)

  Thread Rating:
  • 10 Vote(s) - 3.9 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
BatterPudding Offline
Fan
Posts: 526
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 10
Post: #811
On the KODI Audio page you need to tick Enable Passthrough to get the digital signal down the HDMI cable untouched.

Then don't just use the default, manually select the HDMI option. (Direct Sound or WSAPI)

If your AV Amp support Dolby and DTS then tick these options too.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,844
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 97
Post: #812
(2016-01-29 13:13)sbartleet Wrote:  No matter what I try I cannot get Audio over HDMI. HDMI audio works with VLC and windows sound test.
Are you getting no audio at all? or just no audio from playing content? with how things are currently set you should at least be getting GUI sounds when navigating about.

If you want your AVR to do decoding then as BatterPudding has said, you need to enable Passthrough and then to get the HD audio options you need to set the Passthrough audio device as WASAPI: HDMI then enable all the "capable receiver" options.

For best PCM audio you should also change Audio output device to WASAPI: HDMI as well, then set Number of Channels to 7.1
find quote
sbartleet Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #813
Thanks for the prompt response.

Yay, it worked.

I still do not gave GUI clicks but the recorded program playback audio is working. (Audio, GUI sounds is enabled).

I had tried "WASAPI: HDMI" before (just reset back to defaults for posting screenshots) but my test to see if it was working was to listen for the GUI clicks as historically if they worked I had playback audio.

For the benefit of others reading I changed the following:
- Audio output device - WASAPI: HDMI
- Enable pass through
- Enabled all "...capable receiver" options (my AVR specs claimed support for all)

Thanks for your assistance.
find quote
jjd-uk Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,844
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 97
Post: #814
Is the audio for your recorded programs Dolby Digital? as if you're not getting GUI sounds that suggests a problem with PCM audio, if while in the GUI use the + key to make sure the Kodi PCM volume control is at 100%.
find quote
BatterPudding Offline
Fan
Posts: 526
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 10
Post: #815
(2016-01-29 23:28)sbartleet Wrote:  Thanks for the prompt response.

Yay, it worked.
Yay!! Indeed!!
(2016-01-29 23:28)sbartleet Wrote:  I still do not gave GUI clicks but the recorded program playback audio is working. (Audio, GUI sounds is enabled).
As well as jjd-uk's suggestion of checking the volume, do the classic one here of toggling that setting. Turn it off, then back on. See if it comes back.

I also wonder if you have flicked any other odd switches or followed weird hacks whist on your initial search. (I am guessing you are on a standard skin... didn't look at your log)

Best one now is to pull out a few videos to test. Watch the amp swap between stereo \ Dolby Digital \ DTS \ etc.

This http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo is pretty handy for checking the video files you have to see what they really are inside. Then it is simple to check if KODI and your Amp is then correctly playing the file.
(2016-01-29 23:28)sbartleet Wrote:  I had tried "WASAPI: HDMI" before (just reset back to defaults for posting screenshots) but my test to see if it was working was to listen for the GUI clicks as historically if they worked I had playback audio.
"Default" means it will use the same audio device as you have set as the default in the OS. I find it makes more sense to specifically choose your output device here as then you *know* what is going on. On your example you can then see your two choices of Audio jack or HDMI. The WSAPI \ Directsound choice is then how KODI will push the audio to your device.
(2016-01-29 23:28)sbartleet Wrote:  For the benefit of others reading I changed the following:
- Audio output device - WASAPI: HDMI
- Enable pass through
- Enabled all "...capable receiver" options (my AVR specs claimed support for all)

Thanks for your assistance.
(This post was last modified: 2016-01-30 17:51 by BatterPudding.)
find quote
Andrommy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #816
Maybe somebody can help me here.
Suddenly my receiver won't decode wasapi spdif anymore. Sound comes out but the Decode indicator on my receiver is not lit. It worked just fine before, then I started to experimenting with my Kodi skins resulting I made a clean install of it (Kodi), but I feel that is just a coincidence and the problem lies somewhere else. Feels mostly like there's some kind of an interfering with my Xonar U7 sound card and windows.

If I select Directsound spdif my receiver will decode the signals but there's a clearly difference in the audio quality compared to when wasapi was working.

Edit: Now it works again, one factor seem to be the "-Enable Dolby Digital (AC3) Transcoding" option, but that seems odd because the problem also occurred on dts streams. Maybe there was something with the sample rate also.
(This post was last modified: 2016-02-02 20:41 by Andrommy.)
find quote
Post Reply