My XBMC dual display solution
There are multiple threads regarding issues with XBMC and dual displays (computer monitors, laptops, TVs, projectors, etc) and I think I read them all. I am an XBMC noob, but I have researched this and hope this post makes it easier for others to trouble shoot. Windows only.
One problem that people encounter is that they use true fullscreen for XBMC on display 2 and then XBMC loses focus (minimizes) when they work on display one. Some report this occurring secondary to a Windows process stealing the focus. If you switch to use fullscreen window this seems to not happen and XBMC maintains focus. You can also use XBMC launcher (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=136798) and set it to refocus XMBC at regular intervals.

The bigger issue is that if display 2 is turned off, then XBMC will switch over to display one. When display 2 is turned back on, XBMC will not move back over. Very annoying since XBMC does not show up on my projector when I turn it on, only a windows desktop background. If you turn off XBMC and restart, it should then see display 2 and open there. If you use windowed mode then Windows should keep a program on the monitor that it was on, even if that monitor is turned off. If you use this setting you get the window bar at the top of the screen which is not good.