Work in Progress - Stereoscopic 3D support for half/full SBS, over/under, etc

  Thread Rating:
  • 11 Vote(s) - 4.73 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
ktrz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello

Base on plesken 3D Subtitles patch (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=127365) I'd created new one for Frodo and Eden. Major changes are:
  • corrected width and height of subtitles in 3D mode - they look on TV like regular subtitles
  • added changing 3D subtitles mode from keyboard (connected to 'b' key)
  • added changing 3D subtitles mode from remote (connected to 'blue' key)
  • added displaying 3D subtitles mode in message box during changing

Patches can be found there:
Eden: http://www12.zippyshare.com/v/56773202/file.html
Frodo: http://www41.zippyshare.com/v/64566276/file.html

Tested on Frodo, Eden and OpenELEC 2.0 (patch might need some changes)
(This post was last modified: 2013-05-25 15:43 by da-anda.)
find quote
raptorjr Offline
Fan
Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Cool, thank you. Thinking about trying this, but hoping it will be added after Frodo. Don't really like patching things myself. But a question, would it be possible to detect the mode from the movie playing so you don't have to manually change subtitle mode?
find quote
ktrz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
I believe it's possible but to do that more code investigation is needed. Also some changes in global settings are needed to turn on/off 3d auto mode. I will try to do that mode but not sure when.
find quote
pieh Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 13
Location: Poland
Post: #4
You need to do the same for GUI - patches that only duplicate subtitles are "half solutions" and won't be merged.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

My previous forum/trac nickname: grajen3
find quote
plesken Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
@Pieh is right. He gave to me link elupus patch long time ago. This patch adapting gui to display hsbs/hou, but the playing movie was not good. I've tried to correct it but my knowledge of c++ was very weak Sad.
So I decided run 3D hdmi frame-packing on bino. So I modified openelec config files, and wrote simple patch to XBMC for handling switching 3D signal to TV set. You can read on this link: http://sd-xbmc.org/?q=node/3
@ktrz if you know more better c++ like me, and you are interested to include playing 3D files to XBMC let me know.
find quote
pieh Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 13
Location: Poland
Post: #6
If you feel like testing you can try out elupus changes + few of my fixes and tweakes (video playback shouldn't stutter as it did with just first patch): https://github.com/pieh/xbmc/commits/3d . I don't have 3dtv so all I could do is to check if GUI/subtitles are rendered side by side / top and bottom and they do: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/no3d_home.png (no 3d mode) vs https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/3d_home.png (sbs mode).

There is no auto-detection so you have to switch 3d modes manually (I added to keymap 'y' key to cycle between 3d modes: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/28792047/xbmc/3d.xml - place it in userdata/keymaps directory).

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

My previous forum/trac nickname: grajen3
(This post was last modified: 2012-12-11 12:30 by pieh.)
find quote
plesken Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
@pieh, could you create patch for xbmc 11? I have old linux, and old libraries of taglib and etc...
find quote
pieh Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 13
Location: Poland
Post: #8
I don't get point of creating patch against previous release - this won't be backported and I certainly won't spend time on it. We are in development forum, if you want to help, you need to be able to build latest stuff ...

In any case I got info that it seems to work with few glitches:
1. sometimes left/right views for GUI are getting out of sync and they both display different things
2. missing some details from textures (propably because currently we render half sbs/half tab and squashed elements are missing some "important" pixels)

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

My previous forum/trac nickname: grajen3
find quote
Nogler Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Hi,

i have compiled the source from git. The 3D mode is not working when i press the y key.
In the log i found this entry:

ERROR: Keymapping error: no such action '3dmode' defined

When i press the y key i get following:

03:13:39 T:3037587200 DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 34, sym: 0079, unicode: 0079, modifier: 0
03:13:39 T:3037587200 DEBUG: OnKey: y (f059) pressed, action is

What wrong whit the compiled Xbmc?

Thanks

Edit Sorry it was my fault to not clone the git correctly Oo
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-13 04:47 by Nogler.)
find quote
da-anda Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 5,242
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 62
Location: germany
Post: #10
pieh - check out the rPI stuff - IIRC there is code that detects the 3D-mode from filename and also sends correct commands via HDMI to the TV. Don't have a link at hand - but there is a recent PR improving it IIRC.
find quote
jaaps Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 2
Post: #11
I really want to thank pieh for his patch. It was the last part I needed to get right for my mediacenter. Thanks!

Since I'm using a passive 3D TV I rip all my 3d blurays to under/over format. I've changed the code a bit for switching between over/under and 2d more easily since I don't use the other 3d formats. See: https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/f4d...2435808fd5 .

I also made a very simple addon for XBMC that switches 3D to under/over automatically. For that see: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodexbmc

And the last part to make it complete is an addon for XBMC that turns on the 3D on my LG TV with their http-api. See: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodelgtv

I'm just posting this here incase someone has some use for it (although I kinda doubt it) and of course to thank pieh and others for their work!

Edit: I made a mistake in my initial code for TAB action. See https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/c96...c5a24bf2e3 for fix

Enjoying Kodi on an ASUS Chromebox running openELEC. Also using a Fire TV Stick in the bedroom. Content is stored on a HP Proliant Microserver running unRAID
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-14 20:35 by jaaps.)
find quote
N3MIS15 Offline
Donor
Posts: 544
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 14
Location: Melbourne, VIC
Post: #12
jaaps, I have an LG passive tv also. your addons will be very useful. Thanks.

[Image: all-fanart.jpg]
find quote
raptorjr Offline
Fan
Posts: 323
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2013-01-14 15:11)jaaps Wrote:  I really want to thank pieh for his patch. It was the last part I needed to get right for my mediacenter. Thanks!

Since I'm using a passive 3D TV I rip all my 3d blurays to under/over format. I've changed the code a bit for switching between over/under and 2d more easily since I don't use the other 3d formats. See: https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/f4d...2435808fd5 .

I also made a very simple addon for XBMC that switches 3D to under/over automatically. For that see: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodexbmc

And the last part to make it complete is an addon for XBMC that turns on the 3D on my LG TV with their http-api. See: https://github.com/jaaps/script.custom.3dmodelgtv

I'm just posting this here incase someone has some use for it (although I kinda doubt it) and of course to thank pieh and others for their work!

Edit: I made a mistake in my initial code for TAB action. See https://github.com/jaaps/xbmc/commit/c96...c5a24bf2e3 for fix

I also have a LG TV. How automatic is this? Is it possible to start a 3D movie and not have to assign actions to a button on my remote? But i don't have all my 3D in under/over.
find quote
zpon Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
I build openelec for RPI with this patch, seems to work okay, if anyone wants to try it, the build is available here: http://zpon.dk/download/OpenELEC-RPi.arm...33.tar.bz2 - note it is only for the raspberry pi.

UPDATE: Rebuild with working python: http://zpon.dk/download/OpenELEC-RPi.arm...33.tar.bz2

Thanks ktrz
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-15 21:57 by zpon.)
find quote
Nogler Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Work like a charm! Thanks a lot!

Edit:

Applied the patch to Frodo RC3. Compiled under Xbmcbuntu whit only bluray enabled. Works whit SBS and OU.
modified script from jaaps: https://github.com/AndreasNogler/script....3dmodexbmc Thanks to jaaps!
Deb-package: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/42833242/xbmc_12rc3-1_i386.deb Thanks to pieh and jaaps!

It will install xbmc under /usr/local/bin/xbmc. You have only to rename your files to 3dbd.ou./3dbd.sbs. or change the options in default.py

Have fun!
(This post was last modified: 2013-01-17 20:29 by Nogler.)
find quote
Post Reply