to all the 'skinners': useless use of 'hide'
first of all im new to xbmc (since 1 week).

heres my question:

why do you use the word 'hide' in menu options? from usability perspective thats really really bad. i mean if there is an skin option called "rain effect"...you have the option to switch it on or off....so there is no need at all to call the option "hide rain effect".

in applied computer science this is called "double negation"...(because you've got the option to "not" not show something). i hope you've got the point

think about it and then just drop all the 'hide"'s in your skin options Wink
cu
To be honest i dont see the problem and i doubt it will change
Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
youre right, of course!

its not a "problem" but it is confusing for customers. as i said from a "usability perspective" its wrong.
cu
I never heard any one complain on the forum so i think users perfectly understand the setting
Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
I think the problem is if skinners use mixed options, so one option is "Hide ..." and the next is "Show ...". As a user you don't have a quick overview by looking at the radio buttons which options are enabled (= they are visible) and which disabled (= they are hidden). I must say I also never really thought about this in my skin but I might change that.
It's not 'double negation'. Double negation is a logic term to describe a phenomenon where a 'not' (negative) is applied to an existing not (thus becoming a positive / true). Computer science using this term is simply adopting it from logic.
Nor is this issue an example of double negation in any way, nor does the inability to 'unhide' something quality as an example of double negation.