ATV vs ATV2 - which one to buy?
First off I will let everyone know I am very new to XBMC, media center's etc... I tried a few years back to build a htpc and gave up. I came across the XBMC app while on my ipad the other day, installed it and found the user interface amazing, so I starting thinking and reading and reading, a lot of reading the past 2 days and decided that I wanted to create a media center so the kids and family could 1) view movies and listen to music and stream some tv shows and movies and not have to be in front of the home computer or in front of my ipad.

I think the Apple TV or Apple TV2 are my best bet as most I have come across already have xbmc and add ons installed. The question that I have is which one should I get? Both seem to be at the same price level on eBay and local craiglist sites, I like the idea that I can add an external drive to the ATV so I don't have to set up a shared network (seems confusing to me). I read that I should add a Broadcom Crystal HD to get the 1080 i/p. Since this is going to be a $250 - $300 investment I want to make sure I spend it correctly,which one should I get?
The ATV and ATV2 both do 720p max output - so if 1080 is important to you - you cant hack the ATV2 - so maybe the ATV?
Also - you cant hook up a hard drive to the ATV2 - as you mention you want to do - so again - the ATV?

But its not too hard to set up sharing - depends on what you already have (network) and the hardware I guess.
$250?? It should be possible to get an ATV1 in good condition on ebay and the BCHD both for under $150.

In any case:

ATV1 (wiki) + BCHD (wiki) + Crystalbuntu (wiki) > ATV2

normal ATV1 < ATV2

So yeah, if you can get an ATV1 in good condition and are willing to do the BCHD install (very easy), then I would go for the ATV1. I have 2 ATV1s and 1 ATV2, and my ATV1s are my favorite HTPCs right now.
@Enthdegree there's a great overview in this thread http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=130945